香港巴塞尔2020: 森田子龙, 井上有一, 安星金, 郑光熙, 金浩得, 李津, 王天德, 郑重宾

2020年03月18日 - 03月25日

墨斋画廊将荣幸地参加于2020年3月18日至25日期间举办的香港巴塞尔艺术展线上展厅,并呈现线上群展“墨之语”。展览将围绕现当代水墨艺术作为重要的战后东亚文化语境展开,呈现八位来自中、日、韩三国的水墨艺术家的精彩作品。艺术家包括:日本战后抽象书法家森田子龙(Shiryu Morita),井上有一(Yuichi Inoue);韩国艺术家安星金(Ahn Sung Keum),郑光熙(Jeong Gwanghee),金浩得(Kim Ho Deuk);以及中国艺术家李津,王天德,郑重宾。此次展出的作品将为观众展现水墨多元化的艺术概念与丰富的表现形式,以及不同文化背景的艺术家以水墨为“语”进行的跨文化,跨地域,跨语境的对话与交流。

 

 

森田子龙(1912-1998)是日本战后重要的先锋艺术家之一,他将东方书法彻底革新,开启全新的前卫艺术。他于1952年打破传统以艺术书法为目标与其他先锋艺术家共同创立了影响深远的“墨人会”,在书法中着重探索与身体紧密相连的韵律及肢体动作的抽象表现并认为书法乃是艺术家他与知名西方艺术家交流合作,例如野口勇和弗朗兹·克莱恩等,并于1950及60年代获邀参展于纽约现代艺术博物馆及圣保罗双年展等国际知名艺术机构。

 

 

井上有一(1916-1985)是日本重要先锋抽象书法家,与森田子龙同为“墨人会”创始人之一。他充分驾驭深厚的传统力量,巧妙地捕捉汉字之美,并透过施展浑身之力,以躯体为作画的能量来源,创造出其独特的“单一字”抽象书法作品,更发明了独有的创作技法,在水墨中混合胶水或炭粉以达到不同的视觉效果和质感。他作品中文字的选择以及笔势形态,与他生命中的个人发展息息相关。观者常因其作品及其艺术创作精神中所流露出的真诚、简朴和率直的态度而感到惊叹,如他认为作品未能反映其艺术风格,则从不向人展示,更甚至将不满意的作品销毁。他的作品记录其心路历程及个人态度,非为单一的抽象表达,也不是对外界所作的回应。

 

 

安星金(出生于1958年)的艺术以探索“自我”与“存在”之间充满矛盾的深刻关系。她的大尺幅水墨画作及装置,如《音之幻》及《佛音》系列,以佛经等传统典籍以及古典乐谱为底,在其上以黑墨画出不同形状,遮盖部分文字内容。她的作品不仅扎根于东方哲学思想,更是自我反思的有力表达。

 

 

郑光熙(出生于1971年)的艺术语言根植于水墨艺术的传统哲学与美学,同时亦结合当代装置艺术与抽象艺术的元素。他的作品由传统韩国纸折叠并从侧面堆叠排列而成。这些纸张来自于历史古籍,上面若隐若现的文字被艺术家抽象的笔触或墨点所覆盖,模糊了文字、图像和形式之间的界限。他曾表示他的创作试图对已有知识及常识提出质疑,同时亦对自己不断超越自身艺术语言边界的过程进行不断地审视与反思。

 

 

金浩得(出生于1950年)是韩国水墨的先驱艺术家,将水墨艺术的边界不断拓展与创新。他的抽象水墨山水画既向传统水墨画技法致敬,同时又极具独特的当代性,既具有极简主义概念,同时又充满即兴与大胆的笔锋。他的笔触一气呵成,笔与身体合而为一,挥洒自如。由于常年病痛缠身,艺术家的作品中愈发强调生命中每一刻存在的价值与重要性,每一笔仿佛都是珍贵的一刻,记录生命存在的意义与价值。

 

 

李津(1958年生于天津)以描绘当代生活中的食、色主题而广为人知,但从2015年开始,他以更直抒胸臆的大写意风格创作黑白的水墨绘画,将多年对色彩细腻精心的渲染,升华和回归为“墨分五色”的精妙。李津使用特制的大毛笔,在地上或墙上肆意泼洒,集合笔墨技巧及媒材的敏感度和偶然性。作品的水墨效果极富表现力,介乎形象和抽象之间,令人联想到禅宗绘画以及梁楷、徐渭及八大山人等人的写意语言。

 

 

王天德(1960年出生于上海)1988年毕业于浙江美术学院(现中国美术学院)国画系,后于该院书法系获博士学位,现任复旦大学教授。王天德以其对传统中国艺术的革命性创新享誉海外,被誉为中国当代水墨发展史上最重要的艺术家之一。王天德以独创的水墨山水叠加烟烫或香烫绘画的技法形成自己独特的艺术语言。后又将自己的山水创作与自己收藏的古代碑拓相结合,在古与今,毁灭与创造,永恒不变与稍纵即逝之间寻求连接与对话。

 

 

郑重宾(1961年生于上海)融通中国传统水墨和西方抽象绘画,在系统地研究和分析了形象、质感、空间、动势、材料、几何形态这些东西方绘画所共有的基本要素后,郑重宾的作品使人直观地接感到物质的生命力。郑重宾最核心的艺术观念认为世界并不是静态的物质或类别的组成,而是一场永恒的流变,物质和能量在其中生灭往复。这个世界观是中国古代思想,尤其是道家思想的延续,它也成就了当代科学对于气候和社会行为等动态复杂系统、人工智能、量子物理等领域的探索,更衍生了程序艺术和大地艺术等当代艺术形式。

 

 

 

关于巴塞尔线上展厅

线上展厅为参展艺廊提供额外的展示空间,借以紧密联系巴塞尔艺术展的全球收藏家、艺术品经销商及艺术爱好者。日后线上展厅将与巴塞尔三地展会同步举行,为文化艺术赞助人呈献参展艺廊多元统一的全新数码观展体验。首个线上展厅的艺术品原定于今年三月香港展会上展出。

 

 

关于墨斋

墨斋位于北京草场地,其使命是通过精心策划的展览项目,展现中国实验水墨对国际当代艺术的独特贡献。墨斋展览均由深度艺评、学术交流、中英双语出版和多媒体内容作为支持。墨斋每年举办三到四个展览,合作艺术家包括冰逸、戴光郁,何云昌、李津、李华生、王冬龄、杨诘苍、郑重宾,涵盖绘画、书法、雕塑、装置、行为、摄影、影像等多种媒介。自2012创立至今,墨斋多次被邀参与纽约军械库艺术展、香港巴塞尔艺术展、上海西岸艺术设计博览会等国际艺术活动,其代理作品已被大都会美术馆、洛杉矶郡艺术博物馆、香港M+博物馆等公共机构收藏。

Art Basel Hong Kong 2020: Shiryu Morita, Yuichi Inoue, Ahn Sung Keum, Jeong Gwang Hee, Kim Ho Deuk, Li Jin, Wang Tiande, Zheng Chongbin

18 - 25 March 2020

INK studio is proud to participate in Art Basel Hong Kong’s Online Viewing Room program from March 18 to 25. Through this digital platform, INK studio will present Ink as Discourse, group exhibition that explores modern and contemporary ink art as a critical yet under-recognized East Asian post-war discourse between Japan, Korea and China. In each respective socio-political context, artists explore how historical art practices—specifically painting and calligraphy using brush and ink on paper—can change to communicate original meaning in new and rapidly-changing contemporary contexts. Exhibited artists will include post-war abstract calligraphers Shiryu Morita (1912 – 98) and Yuichi Inoue (1916 – 85), post-democracy movement artists Ahn Seung Kum (b. 1958), Jeong Gwanghee (b. 1971), and Kim Ho Deuk (b.1950), and post-Cultural-Revolution painters Li Jin (b. 1958), Wang Tiande (b. 1960), and Zheng Chongbin (b. 1961). 

 

 

Shiryu Morita (1912 - 1998) was a postwar Japanese artist who revolutionized Japanese calligraphy into a global avant-garde aesthetic. He was a founding member of the Bokujinkai (‘Ink People Society’) founded in 1952, an association of calligraphy artists who envisioned to bring the art of calligraphy to the position of international prominence. Morita once expressed the movement’s guiding idea, that “works of the art of sho (writing) are traces which are left behind by the movements of the living, experiencing soul.” The artist him or herself thus becomes a sign, revealed to us by the traces of his or her brush and experienced by us through an empathic feeling of their rhythm. The artist's life and the written sign, the calligraphic character and its gestural expression, together form what we experience on the paper as the “art of writing.” Morita launched artistic and intellectual exchange with many prominent international abstract artists including Isamu Noguchi, Franz Kline, Pierre Soulages, Pierre Alechinsky, and Walasse Ting and also exhibited in the Museum of Modern Art, New York and Sao Paolo Biennale as early as the 1950s and 1960s. 

 

 

Widely exhibited and enjoying great international acclaim throughout his career, Yuichi Inoue (1916 - 1985) is one of the true pioneers of Japanese abstract calligraphy. Yuichi's importance as an artist grows out of the political and intellectual context in which he worked. In post-war Japan, the development of modern calligraphy arose from a common desire to restore national confidence through the arts. Under this backdrop, Yuichi and fellow avant-garde Japanese calligraphers such as Shiryu Morita founded the influential Ink People Society, which sought to liberate calligraphy from its deep-rooted traditions and put it on equal terms with modern Western art. The significant variation in Yuichi’s artwork closely tracks his personal and intellectual development. People were often struck by Yuichi's honesty, simplicity, and straight-forward manner. He never showed a work he didn't feel best represented his artistic practice and was known to frequently destroy works he viewed to be "inferior". 

 

 

 

Ahn Sung Keum (b. 1958)’s artistic inquiry is characterized by a commitment to the understanding of the profundity and contradictions of “self” and “existence”. Her large ink paintings and installations, such as the Sound of Vision and Buddha Sound series, utilize both sacred calligraphic texts and musical notation upon which large black ink shapes have been painted, partially obscuring the characters. Her work has a grounding in Eastern philosophy and is also expressive of inner reflection.

 

 

The labor intensive work of Jeong Gwang Hee (b. 1971) has a strong relationship to the philosophical and aesthetic traditions of ink art while also referencing Abstract Art and contemporary installation art. His works are composed of strips of Korean traditional paper folded and stacked side by side. The surface is then covered by ink dots and abstract brushstrokes, blurring and deconstructing the meaning of the text and images on paper. Jeong has described as part of his intention a need to examine and hold to question accepted knowledge and conventional belief and in doing so to doubt himself as he extends the envelope of his artistic language.

 

 

Kim Ho Deuk (b. 1950) is an acclaimed pioneering artist who has pushed the envelope of ink painting. His abstracted landscape ink painting pays homage to traditional techniques while being uniquely contemporary. Kim's landscape paintings are conceptually minimal yet bold and spontaneous. He applies ink in a brush stroke that is a singular psychically expressive act. Since a continued illness the artist has emphasized this momentary expression as emblematic of importance of each moment of existence. 

 

 

Li Jin (b. 1958) is best known for his lush and colorful depictions of sensory pleasures in contemporary China. From 2015 onwards, Li Jin has shifted his focus on monochrome ink paintings executed in the highly expressive xieyi style, applying spontaneous ink splashes using gigantic brushes. Dwelling in between concrete imagery and abstraction brush strokes, Li Jin’s works are extremely striking, reminiscent of the Zen paintings practiced by artists like Liang Kai, Xu Wei, and Zhu Da. 

 

 

Wang Tiande (b. 1960) graduated from the Chinese Painting Department of Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts (now the China Academy of Art) in 1988 and later obtained his doctoral degree from its Department of Calligraphy. Internationally renowned as a prominent figure in the development of Chinese contemporary ink art for his revolutionary takes on traditional Chinese art, Wang Tiande developed his signature style of multi-layered painting consists of ink landscapes topped by an upper-layer of burned landscapes or calligraphy using cigarettes or incense sticks, which are then juxtaposed with rubbings of famous ancient steles from his own collection. Meditating on creation and destruction, the simultaneous ephemeral and fleeting qualities of Wang Tiande’s works are a poetic celebration and elegy to both past and present. Wang is currently a professor at the Fudan University in Shanghai. 

 

 

Zheng Chongbin (b. 1961) has held the classical Chinese ink tradition and Western pictorial abstraction in productive mutual tension. By exploring and exploiting the immanent qualities and behavior of his materials—ink, acrylic, water and paper—Zheng has developed a distinctive language of indexical abstraction—what critic Mark van Proyen calls “pre-constructed” in contrast to “de-constructed” art. Mounted on custom-fabricated, honeycomb-aluminum panels, Zheng’s latest works move into three-dimensional wall sculpture, enabling him to integrate elements of his light-and-space installation practice. 

 

 

 

About Art Basel Online Viewing Room

Online Viewing Room is a new digital platform designed to connect galleries and collectors from around the world. As an additional exhibition space, the viewing room will operate simultaneously with Art Basel’s international fairs, providing global audience and art patrons with the opportunity to explore participating galleries and their artistic presentations with a new digital visual experience. 

 

 

About INK studio

INK studio is an art gallery based in Beijing. Its mission is to present Chinese experimental ink as a distinctive contribution to contemporary transnational art-making in a closely-curated exhibition program supported by in-depth critical analysis, scholarly exchange, bilingual publishing, and multimedia production. INK studio curates three to four major solo projects per year with artists such as Bingyi, Dai Guangyu, He Yunchang, Li Jin, Li Huasheng, Wang Dongling, Yang Jiechang, and Zheng Chongbin and exhibits works of diverse media, including painting, calligraphy, sculpture, installation, performance, photography, and video. Since its inception in 2012, INK Studio has regularly appeared at art fairs such as the Armory Show (New York), Art Basel Hong Kong, and West Bund Art & Design (Shanghai) and placed works into major public collections, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Brooklyn Museum, and M+ Museum, Hong Kong.