艺术深圳 2019: 冰逸,金钟九,李华生,彭康隆,陶艾民,王天德,王冬龄,魏立刚

2019年09月12日 - 09月15日

墨斋画廊将荣幸地参加于2019912日至15日期间举办的Art Shenzhen艺术深圳当代艺术博览会。在D07展位上,墨斋将推出八位艺术家的精彩作品,其中包括:冰逸的《百妖图》系列及抽象山水新作;韩国艺术家金钟九以铁粉为媒介的绘画作品;李华生的早期山水及其独特的抽象线格画;彭康隆花卉作品及山水长卷;陶艾民的女书声音书法新作;王天德融合碑拓的山水新作;王冬龄的书法新作;以及魏立刚的抽象书法及绘画作品等,为观众展现当代水墨多元化的艺术概念与丰富的表现形式。

 

 

冰逸(1975年生于北京)同时身兼建筑设计师、作家、策展人、文化评论家和社会活动家等身份,其丰富多元的艺术实践融合了她对生态学、科学、哲学、史学和美学等领域的兴趣,并涵盖了大地与环境艺术、特定场域的建筑-装置艺术、音乐与文学创作、水墨绘画以及行为表演艺术。她穿行于考古学家、网络创业者、文论家、大型城市项目规划师、电影导演、诗人、和画家等各种角色之间,而所有这些经历在与水墨相遇之后,结晶为璀璨透明的发光体。此次展出的抽象水墨以及扇面作品体现出冰逸对水墨媒介的驾驭与诠释,在抽象与具象,宏观与微观之间寻求艺术的本真。

 

 

韩国艺术家金钟九(Kim Jongku, b. 1963)的创作介于书法、绘画、雕塑和装置之间,所用媒介是磨成细粉的铁。对于金钟九来说,铁是现代物质文明的象征,是人类不断进步的愿望的集中体现。通过将固体铁转化成一种精细的力量,艺术家消除了它厚重性和侵略性,使它呈现出一种精致和而无常的物理形态,创造出绘画中的“墨水”。

 

 

李华生(1944年出生于四川宜宾)是一位接受过传统训练的水墨画家,他在书法、山水以及基于时间和过程而创作的当代水墨中追求心手双畅。他的作品包括线格画、抽象山水、摄影以及以水墨为基础的装置。此次展出的“线格画”李华生基于自己人生所悟所感所开创的一种前所未有的艺术实践方式:在有规律的冥想状态中,他手绘出水平和垂直的线条,交错组成为线格。用毛笔写出的一根根线条,仿佛是艺术家在时间中所留下的“心电图”,捕捉并记录了身体、知觉、感受、情绪和思想的瞬间状态。每一根线条都在心神高度集中的状态中完成,这只有几十年执毛笔训练的水墨画家才能做到。线条上任何微小的波动都是“气”的凝聚和消散,体现出艺术家身体和精神的活力。

 

 

彭康隆(1962年出生于台湾花莲)1988于国立台北艺术学院水墨组毕业。他的作品虽以传统水墨为主,却融汇西方当代观点及东方山水哲学,开创独有个人风格:突破传统水墨框架,捕捉最原始的欲望,笔触下之作品华丽中尽见张狂。此次展出的设色花卉作品率性洒脱,不夹带嘲讽或玩世意味,亦不执着于工笔灵巧,却流露本真。他笔下的花朵艳红如血,韶华胜极,真切地反映着他的内心世界。水墨长卷则气势如虹,既有古意诗意又不乏彭康隆独特的洒脱笔法与写意构图,让人仿佛游走于他内心的山水世界,体会他的所见所感。

 

 

陶艾民1974年生于湖南)虽然已在北京安家落户,但情感上却始终与这座城市保持着距离。她怀着感同身受的情怀和人类学者的好奇去观察农村妇女的生活,用一种意味深长的沉默,为她们默默无闻,随时可能被历史忘却的生命代言。陶艾民的艺术综合了现成品使用和民间艺术的手法,并涉及绘画、书法、拓印、影像、装置等多个门类。她的作品游弋于大众和精英文化、传统和当代艺术之间,对艺术创作权、艺术自我表达、劳动、身体经验和集体记忆等问题富有深刻而细腻的哲思。此次艺术深圳期间,墨斋将重点展示陶艾民以湖南江永女书为艺术灵感的声音书法作品,让即将被主流文化所遗忘的古老女性文字与当代女性的生活故事相结合,在当代艺术语境下重获新生。

 

 

王冬龄(1945年生于江苏如东)的艺术作品为现代艺术引进姿态抽象,采用近代艺术实践中源于中国书法的象征性行为和表演的方式来阐释对语言和权力的怀疑奠定了基石。他的创新尤其为新时代重新阐释历来书法实践的两个方面,即通过表演的创造和对姿态抽象的吸收。王冬龄作为中国最伟大的当代书法家或许是曾在中国国家美术馆举办三场个展的唯一的艺术家。尽管他最广为人知的可能是他公众表演的狂放大草,但他的艺术实践极具实验性,还包括“巨大的, 恃强凌弱的抽象”(罗伯塔·史密斯,《纽约时报》,2013年12月12日)和新媒体书法,其中银盐书法的运笔过程全在相纸上直接捕捉。此次艺术深圳期间,墨斋将展出王冬龄以唐诗为创作灵感的书法新作。

 

 

王天德1960年出生于上海)1988年毕业于浙江美术学院国画系,现任复旦大学上海视觉艺术学院传达设计学院院长、复旦大学艺术设计系主任,教授。王天德以其火灼山水画的独特技法最为著名,这种独一无二的水墨创作由两层宣纸组成,面层的宣纸被香支烫灼出细致的烧孔,底层以笔墨绘画,从而成为从传统山水和书法蜕变出来的当代艺术品。而在每一个新系列的作品中,他都在传统山水画的领域激发出新意念和加入新内容。高明潞曾经评价,王天德的独特之处是能够把美学隐喻和社会隐喻不露声色地结合在一起。把这些似乎和水墨无关的材料和水墨画在视觉和联想上达到统一和谐。此次艺术深圳期间展出的山水作品融合了传统水墨、灼烧印痕及碑石拓片等元素,成为弥合文化断裂,重新对接传统的独特艺术语言。

 

 

魏立刚1964年生于山西大同)在近三十年的艺术探索中一直在打造一种基于汉字线条和空间结构的普世抽象语言。这种语言可以容纳人类当代知识和存在的复杂性和宽广性。他的“魏氏魔块”对汉字进行解构又融入图像元素,回溯象形文字本源,为中国当代艺术中最早的个人视觉语言之一。他把明末清初山西书法家傅山(16071684)的连绵术融入篆、隶、甲骨文等金石文字,构造出金石连绵草、叠影草书、金墨大草等丰富的艺术形式。此外,魏立刚亦有各种饱含书法意味的绘画作品。他喜用金、红、蓝等华丽色彩,并用丙烯颜料制造出肌理的厚重感,有异于黑白色调、清逸和流畅的传统书法。

 

 

 

关于艺术深圳

艺术深圳创立于2013年,2015年转型做纯粹的当代艺术博览会,是“中国(深圳)国际文化产业博览交易会”1+N的重点项目。博览会汇集了来自国内外的优秀画廊,艺术家,收藏家,非盈利机构,美术馆,艺术衍生品机构和媒体;背靠粤港澳大湾区,全面构筑一个立足深圳联接全球的当代艺术品交易平台。

 

 

关于墨斋

墨斋位于北京草场地,其使命是通过精心策划的展览项目,展现中国实验水墨对国际当代艺术的独特贡献。墨斋展览均由深度艺评、学术交流、中英双语出版和多媒体内容作为支持。墨斋每年举办三到四个展览,合作艺术家包括冰逸、戴光郁,何云昌、李津、李华生、王冬龄、杨诘苍、郑重宾,涵盖绘画、书法、雕塑、装置、行为、摄影、影像等多种媒介。自2012创立至今,墨斋多次被邀参与纽约军械库艺术展、香港巴塞尔艺术展、上海西岸艺术设计博览会等国际艺术活动,其代理作品已被大都会美术馆、洛杉矶郡艺术博物馆、香港M+博物馆等公共机构收藏。

Art Shenzhen 2019: Bingyi, Kim Jongku, Li Huasheng, Peng Kanglong, Tao Aimin, Wang Tiande, Wang Dongling, Wei Ligang

12 - 15 September 2019

INK studio is proud to participate in Art Shenzhen International Contemporary Art Fair from September 12 to 15. Located at booth D07, INK studio will present works by eigh contemporary artists who express their dynamic artistic concepts through the exploration of ink in different medium and formats. Highlights include Bingyi’s Fairies series and new abstract landscape paintings; Korean artist Kim Jongku’s Steel Powder Painting series; Li Huasheng’s early landscape album leaves and his signature grid paintings; Peng Kanglong’s flower paintings and landscape handscrolls; Tao Aimin’s new nüshu calligraphy; Wang Tiande’s new landscape paintings that incorporate his unique burn marks and rubbings of ancient texts; Wang Dongling’s new calligraphic works; and Wei Ligang’s calligraphic works as well as abstract ink painting with vibrant colors. 

 

 

An artist, architectural designer, curator, cultural critic, and social activist, Bingyi (b. 1975) has developed a multi-faceted practice that encompasses land and environmental art, site-specific architectural installation, musical and literary composition, ink painting, performance art, and filmmaking. Adopting a non-anthropocentric perspective and channeling nature’s creative agency, her work is centrally concerned with the themes of ecology, ruins, rebirth, and poetic imagination. During Art Amoy, INK studio will present Bingyi’s abstract ink wash paintings and her exquisite fan leaves, showing her exploration of the ink medium with profound diversity – channeling between macro and micro level of artistic practice. 

 

 

 

Encompasses painting, calligraphy and installation, Kim Jongkus (b. 1963) practice adopts the medium of grated iron powder. To the artist, iron is a symbol of modern civilization and the human desire of everlasting progress. By refining iron into his ink, the artist reveals the delicate and impermanent qualities of iron and repurposes it for his landscape compositions.

 

 

Li Huasheng (b. 1944 in Yibin, d. 2018 in Chengdu) was a classically-trained ink painter who explored the shared phenomenology between mind-hand embodiment in classical brush and ink practice in calligraphy and landscape painting and time- and process-based practices employed in contemporary art. Li's practice included processual grid paintings, abstract ink landscapes, photography and ink-and-paper-based installations. During Art Shenzhen, INK studio will present a set of his early landscape album leaves together with his iconic grid-paintings, which capture and record the moment-by-moment phenomenological state of his body, perceptions, feelings, emotions and thoughts. 

 

 

Peng Kanglong (b. 1962) graduated from Taipei National University of the Arts, majoring in Chinese ink painting. His ink paintings with spontaneous, wild and yet highly controlled brushworks subvert and transcend traditions in Eastern art, capturing his inner-world and exploring the subject of human desire. The ink-and-color flower paintings presented during Art Shenzhen 2019 display Peng’s rigorous and expressive brushwork full of energy and emotion, without the limitation of a particular artistic tradition or style. The long horizontal landscape scrolls, on the other hand, show a more complex and ambitious composition and overall coherence, allowing the audience to enjoy the landscape of his mind and experience, as a visitor, his imaginary world of brush and ink.

 

 

A Hunan native who maintains an emotional distance towards her adopted home of Beijing, Tao Aimin (b. 1974) approaches the lives of rural Chinese women with a combination of empathy and anthropological curiosity. With eloquent inarticulacy, she gives voice to their unexpressed and undocumented experiences, which are increasingly at risk of being forgotten. Incorporating found objects, painting, calligraphy, printmaking, video, and installation, her works move fluently between elite and popular culture and between the languages of traditional and contemporary art. They are bold and sensitive meditations on the issues of artistic authorship and self-representation, labor, embodied knowledge, and collective memory. During Art Shenzhen, INK studio will present Tao’s new series of nüshucalligraphy, illustrating contemporary stories of women through the dying language of nüshu,in memory of women’s quotidian lives.

 

 

Wang Dongling (b. 1945) 's artworks ground the modernist engagement with gestural abstraction and the post-modern skepticism of language and power in the pre-modern practice of embodied action and performance originally developed in Chinese calligraphy. Wang Dongling himself is widely recognized as China's greatest living calligrapher and is perhaps the only artist to have been granted three solo exhibitions at the National Art Museum of China. Although he is perhaps best known for public performances of monumental "mad" cursive script calligraphy, his artistic practice can be highly experimental and includes "enormous, swashbuckling abstractions" (Roberta Smith, New York Times, [December 12, 2013]) and calligraphy in new media, such as chemical photography, in which Wang's calligraphic actions are directly captured on silver-gelatin photographic paper. 

 

 

A prominent figure in the development of modern calligraphy, Wang Tiande (b. 1960) graduated from the Chinese Paintings Department of Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts (now China Academy of Art) in 1988 and later obtained his doctorate degree from its Calligraphy Department. He is now a professor of art at Fudan University in Shanghai. Wang Tiande has been continuously exploring the language of ink and its potential for spiritual expression. He often takes sources in classical landscapes and calligraphy, but he replaces the brushes with sticks of burning incense, executing his imagery in a unique artistic language. Imbuing the landscape with a certain contemporaneity, Wang Tiande creates an expansive virtual space in which contemporary people can engage with both nature and the ancients. 

 

 

In his career of three decades, Wei Ligang (b. 1964) has sought a universal language of abstraction based on the linear and spatial compositions of Chinese writing, a language capable of embodying the complexity and expansiveness of contemporary human knowledge and existence. His signature “magic squares,” which preserve the structure and strokes of Chinese characters and hark back to the pictographic origins of Chinese writing, are one of the earliest examples of a distinctly personal language in contemporary Chinese art. Wei Ligang generalizes the continuous cursive calligraphy of the 17th-century Shanxi calligrapher Fu Shan, applying it to the seal, clerical, and Oracle Bone scripts of antiquity to create the distinctive script styles of epigraphic mad cursive, “gold-ink cursive,” and “shadow cursive.” Wei Ligang is also the author of a celebrated body of calligraphy-informed abstract paintings. INK studio will showcase representative works of each style during Art Shenzhen. 

 

 

 

 

About Art Shenzhen

Art Shenzhen is the key project of China (Shenzhen) International Cultural Industry Fair (ICIF) 1+N. After sustainable development and perfection throughout 2016 and 2017, Art Shenzhen has entered into the forefront of the domestic brand contemporary art fairs. After years of accumulation and management, Art Shenzhen has been widely recognized by institutions and markets. It is highly valued by both exhibiting institutes and the media. Collectors also speak highly of the fair with powerful purchases. Art Shenzhen has become a new star in the art fair market. Shenzhen has accordingly been famed by the professional media as the most potential art market and the most ecological art city after Beijing and Shanghai.

 

 

About INK studio
INK studio is an art gallery based in Beijing. Its mission is to present Chinese experimental ink as a distinctive contribution to contemporary transnational art-making in a closely-curated exhibition program supported by in-depth critical analysis, scholarly exchange, bilingual publishing, and multimedia production. INK studio curates three to four major solo projects per year with artists such as Bingyi, Dai Guangyu, He Yunchang, Li Jin, Li Huasheng, Wang Dongling, Yang Jiechang, and Zheng Chongbin and exhibits works of diverse media, including painting, calligraphy, sculpture, installation, performance, photography, and video. Since its inception in 2012, INK Studio has regularly appeared at art fairs such as the Armory Show (New York), Art Basel Hong Kong, and West Bund Art & Design (Shanghai) and placed works into major public collections, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Brooklyn Museum, and M+Museum, Hong Kong.