2018年艺术成都: 冰逸,戴光郁,黄致阳,李华生,李津,王川,魏立刚

2018年04月25日 - 04月27日

墨斋画廊荣幸地参加中国中西部地区首个国际化当代艺术博览会——艺术成都。在A19展位上,墨斋将推出三位成都艺术家的作品:李华生、戴光郁和王川。他们都在成都过去一百年的艺术发展中占据极为重要的地位,但每一位都有自己独特的创作风格:分别引领了线格绘画和抽象山水、行为艺术和抽象线条等领域。我们同时也会展示著名艺术家李津取材于西藏的作品,包括富有重要历史价值的绘画和“自在”系列最新的黑白创作。 展位还将呈现冰逸的百科全书式《百妖图》作品、黄致阳用白色大理石制作的生物形态雕塑,以及魏立刚的“金墨大草”书法绘画。

 

冰逸

冰逸(1975年生于北京),同时身兼建筑设计师、作家、策展人、文化评论家和社会活动家等身份,其丰富多元的艺术实践融合了她对生态学、科学、哲学、史学和美学等领域的兴趣,并涵盖了大地与环境艺术、特定场域的建筑-装置艺术、音乐与文学创作、水墨绘画以及行为表演艺术。在艺术成都的展位上,墨斋将呈现冰逸百科全书式的系列作品《百妖图》——艺术家在研习古典文学的过程中受到启发,并创造出了一系列虚拟的有机生命体,并将其形象绘于扇形纸上。透过冰逸执着而又极富耐力的笔触、坚忍而细腻的创作,人们能感知到大自然本身由无机物质中缔造生命的爱。

 

戴光郁

戴光郁(1955年生于北京)的艺术实践植根于视觉艺术、行为艺术、文化批评、策展及诗歌等多重领域。其作品涉及中国艺术史、传统诗歌和水墨文化、以及社会政治,其公共行为艺术作品也在中国行为艺术领域独辟蹊径。在艺术成都,墨斋将呈现一组两幅的摄影作品,基于戴光郁在德国创作的大地艺术行为装置。因书写在冰面上的文字"山水"随着冰消雪溶的季节变化由显象到消失,固化在人们头脑中与"山水"有关的美学概念,因时间流失的物理结抅发生改变而转化为形上思考。文字退场,或者说文字意涵依附于景观所引伸的赋义此时失效,推导出更高层面的思考。对于艺术家来说,这组图像阐释了“风水”的核心概念——人类应顺应而非背离自然的规律,用谦卑的态度面对自然环境,抵抗我们已经做出的破坏。

 

黄致阳

同时展出的还有黄致阳(1965年生于台北)以白色大理石来表现生物形态和山水形象的雕塑作品《座千峰》。黄致阳将自然视为一个超有机体:人类个体汇聚成有机体的群落,而这些群落本身形成各自的有机体,并以复杂精密的方式循环往复。因为我们每个人都是这个超有机体的一部分,我们可以感知自己身体以及身体所在世界中的经络(“脉”),与流动在经络中的能量(“气”)。黄致阳的雕塑以线形的凹槽刻画出这些经络,赋予风水能量的韵律以视觉化、触摸化的体现。

 

李华生

李华生(1944年生于四川宜宾,2018年逝于四川成都)是一位接受过传统训练的水墨画家,他在书法、山水以及基于时间和过程而创作的当代水墨中追求心手双畅。他的作品包括线格画、抽象山水、摄影以及以水墨为基础的装置。墨斋将在艺术成都展示李华生极少面世的抽象山水画,呈现他与喜马拉雅山脉千丝万缕的联系,以在其生前久居的第二故乡成都纪念其不久前的逝世。

 

李津

李津(1958年生于天津)以描绘当代生活中的食、色主题而广为人知,但从2015年开始,他以更直抒胸臆的大写意风格创作黑白的水墨绘画,将多年对色彩细腻精心的渲染,升华和回归为“墨分五色”的精妙。李津使用特制的大毛笔,在地上或墙上肆意泼洒,集合笔墨技巧及媒材的敏感度和偶然性。作品的水墨效果极富表现力,介乎形象和抽象之间,令人联想到禅宗绘画以及梁楷、徐渭及八大山人等人的写意语言。墨斋将同时展示李津极少公之于众的九十年代西藏主题画作。它们洋溢着生命的顽强与脆弱,在图式和主题上均与新作有惊人的共鸣。彼时年轻的李津几度在西藏工作和生活,寻找最原始、自然的生存方式。

 

王川

王川(1953生于成都)被公认为是中国后文革时代当代水墨运动的先驱者之一。在1984年搬到深圳后,王川的创作转向了抽象艺术。他在1990年于深圳市博物馆创作的装置作品《墨·点》被艺术家和评论家视为中国水墨艺术发展历程中极具关键性、观念性和实验性的转折点。王川的艺术语言在核心上是一种线条的语言。这种语言是艺术家的心灵和身体的标引符号,以及写作和图像描述的基本元素。因此,王川的线条从过程和形式上彰显了他对自然、艺术、经验、身体、碎片、家园、和自我等方面的冥想与思考。

 

魏立刚

在近三十年的艺术探索中,魏立刚(1964年生于山西大同)一直在打造一种基于汉字线条和空间结构的普世抽象语言。这种语言可以容纳人类当代知识和存在的复杂性和宽广性。 他把明末清初山西书法家傅山(1607-1684)的连绵术融入篆、隶、甲骨文等金石文字,构造出金石连绵草、叠影草书、金墨大草等丰富的艺术形式。魏立刚的艺术表达是理性与感知,精致与飘渺以及异域、寻常与自然之间的独特结合。他从古埃及文字、工业文明、欧洲城堡和皇宫、当代物理学和天文学、动植物结构中寻找灵感,并融入各种奇幻的想象之物。

 

墨斋位于北京草场地,其使命是通过精心策划的展览项目,展现中国实验水墨对国际当代艺术的独特贡献。墨斋展览均由深度艺评、学术交流、中英双语出版和多媒体内容作为支持。墨斋代表艺术家包括冰逸、何云昌、李津、李华生、王冬龄、杨诘苍、郑重宾,涵盖绘画、书法、雕塑、装置、行为、摄影、影像等多种媒介。自2012创立至今,墨斋多次被邀参与纽约军械库艺术展、香港巴塞尔艺术展、上海西岸艺术设计博览会等国际艺术活动,其代理作品已被大都会博物馆、洛杉矶郡立艺术博物馆、香港M+博物馆等公共机构收藏。

 

垂询请联系info@inkstudio.com.cn。

Art Chengdu 2018: Bingyi, Dai Guangyu, Huang Zhiyang, Li Huasheng, Li Jin, Wang Chuan, Wei Ligang

25 - 27 April 2018

INK studio is proud to participate in the first edition of Art Chengdu, the first international art fair in Midwest China. Located at booth A19, the presentation features our Chengdu trio: Li Huasheng, Dai Guangyu, and Wang Chuan. Each is one of the most important artists that Chengdu produced in the last hundred years, but they have distinctive approaches: grid paintings and abstract landscapes, performance art, and linear abstractions, respectively. We will also showcase artworks by Li Jin that are inspired by Tibet, both important historical paintings as well as the most recent paintings from his black and white Being series, in addition to Bingyi's encyclopedic Fairies, Huang Zhiyang's biomorphic marble sculptures, and Wei Ligang's "gold-ink cursive" paintings.

 

Bingyi

An artist, architectural designer, curator, cultural critic, and social activist, Bingyi (b. 1975, Beijing) has developed a multi-faceted practice that encompasses land and environmental art, site-specific architectural installation, musical and literary composition, ink painting, performance art, and filmmaking. For Art Chengdu, INK studio presents a selection of Bingyi's encyclopedic series Fairies, an ongoing catalog of virtual bio-organismic forms inspired by her exploration of classical literary themes. Through her hypnotic, obsessive endurance and execution both painstaking and nuanced, one senses the loving power of nature itself as it crafts animate life from inanimate matter.

 

Dai Guangyu

As a visual and performance artist, a curator and cultural critic, and a poet, Dai Guangyu (b. 1955, Chengdu) engages Chinese art history, ink painting culture, as well as Chinese poetics and politics, and his sustained public performance art practice changed the course of performance art in China. For Art Chengdu, INK studio presents a photographic diptych from Dai Guangyu's durational land art performance installation in Germany. With the passage of time, the aesthetic notions connected with"landscape" (shan shui) fixed in people's minds changed as the exit of the legibility of the characters opened the way for a higher level of contemplation. For the artist, this is a striking reminder of the feng shui principle of working with rather than against nature, and the necessity of human humility in the face of the natural world, against which we have trespassed so destructively.

 

Huang Zhiyang

Also included is the sumptuous white marble sculpture series of biomorphic and landscape forms Possessing Numerous Peaks by Huang Zhiyang (b. 1965, Taipei). Huang sees the natural world as a hyper-organism: humans form communities of organisms that are in turn organisms, recursively in nested levels of complexity. Because each of us is a microcosm of the larger hyper-organism we can directly perceive the animating energy (qi) flowing through the meridians (mai) that constitute both our bodies and the world of which we are a part. Huang's sculptures map these meridians in linear grooves rendering the rhythmic patterns of geomantic energies both visible and tactile.

 

Li Huasheng

Li Huasheng (b. 1944 in Yibin, d. 2018 in Chengdu) is a classically-trained ink painter who explores the shared phenomenology between mind-hand embodiment in classical brush and ink practice in calligraphy and landscape painting and time- and process-based practices employed in contemporary art. Li's practice includes processual grid paintings, abstract ink landscapes, photography and ink-and-paper-based installations. In commemoration of the artist's recent passing in his adopted home of Chengdu, INK studio will showcase one of Li Huasheng's rarely-exhibited highly-abstract ink landscapes drawn from his deep connection with the mountains of the Himalayan Plateau.

 

Li Jin

Best known for his lush and colorful depictions of sensory pleasures in contemporary China, Li Jin Li Jin (b. 1958, Tianjin) has now turned his focus towards painting in monochrome, translating his well-honed sensitivity towards color washes into a masterful control of tonality. He paints in a looser, more gestural and expressive daxieyi style, exploiting the accidental effects of the medium. Along with the new series, we present Li Jin's rarely-seen paintings from the 1990's, when he was a young wanderer and sojourner in Tibet in search of an authentic and primal connection to nature. Pulsating with the intensity and fragility of life that he experienced there, the Tibet-period works relate strikingly to his new series, which itself represents another return to a state of pure and unencumbered creativity.

 

Wang Chuan

A native of Chengdu, Wang Chuan (b. 1953, Chengdu) is widely recognized as one of the pioneers of the post-Cultural Revolution contemporary ink art movement in China. After moving to Shenzhen in 1984, Wang Chuan's art turned towards the abstract. His 1990 conceptual installation, "Blackness" at the Shenzhen Museum is cited by both artists and critics as a seminal, conceptual and experimental turn in the development of ink art in China. Wang Chuan's artistic language is at core a language of lines-at once the living index of the artist's mind and body and the basic element of both writing and iconic depiction. Wang Chuan's lines are thus full of meaning embodying in both process and form his meditations on nature, art, experience, body, fragmentation, home and self.

 

Wei Ligang

In his career of three decades, Wei Ligang (b. 1964, Datong) has sought a universal language of abstraction based on the linear and spatial compositions of Chinese writing, a language capable of embodying the complexity and expansiveness of contemporary human knowledge and existence. Prominently featured at INK studio's booth, his signature script style of "gold-ink cursive" is derived from the continuous cursive calligraphy of the 17th-century Shanxi calligrapher Fu Shan, and applied with the seal, clerical, and Oracle Bone scripts of antiquity.

 

INK Studio is an art gallery based in Beijing. Its mission is to present Chinese experimental ink as a distinctive contribution to contemporary transnational art-making in a closely-curated exhibition program supported by in-depth critical analysis, scholarly exchange, bilingual publishing, and multimedia production. Representing more than 13 artists, including Bingyi, He Yunchang, Li Jin, Li Huasheng, Wang Dongling, Yang Jiechang, and Zheng Chongbin, the gallery exhibits works of diverse media, including painting, calligraphy, sculpture, installation, performance, photography, and video. Since its inception in 2012, INK Studio has regularly appeared at art fairs such as the Armory Show (New York), Art Basel Hong Kong, and West Bund Art & Design (Shanghai) and placed works into major public collections, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Brooklyn Museum, and M+, Hong Kong.

 

For inquiries, please contact info@inkstudio.com.cn.