南京扬子艺博会 2019: 冰逸,李华生,李津,彭康隆,秋麦,徐累,王天德

2019年10月10日 - 10月13日

墨斋画廊将荣幸地参加于2019年10月10日至13日期间于南京举办的扬子当代艺术博览会。在A02展位上,墨斋将推出七位艺术家的精彩作品,其中包括:冰逸的《波相考古学》系列抽象山水、巨幅山水《一尘千山》以及笔触细腻精致的《百妖图》系列;李华生的抽象“线格画”;李津90年代的经典作品,包括《狂草》系列花卉作品及佛教题材小幅作品;彭康隆的设色花卉作品以及气势恢宏的山水长卷;秋麦以长江与黄河为题材的摄影山水作品;徐累的新作《消息树》及《互树》;以及王天德以其独特的焰灼与拓片拼接的形式所呈现的山水新作等,为观众展现当代水墨多元化的艺术概念与丰富的表现形式。

 

 

 

冰逸(1975年生于北京)同时身兼建筑设计师、作家、策展人、文化评论家和社会活动家等身份,其丰富多元的艺术实践融合了她对生态学、科学、哲学、史学和美学等领域的兴趣,并涵盖了大地与环境艺术、特定场域的建筑-装置艺术、音乐与文学创作、水墨绘画以及行为表演艺术。她穿行于考古学家、网络创业者、文论家、大型城市项目规划师、电影导演、诗人、和画家等各种角色之间,而所有这些经历在与水墨相遇之后,结晶为璀璨透明的发光体。此次展出的抽象山水及册页作品体现出冰逸对水墨媒介的驾驭与诠释,在抽象与具象,宏观与微观之间寻求艺术的本真。

 

 

李华生(1944年出生于四川宜宾)是一位接受过传统训练的水墨画家,他在书法、山水以及基于时间和过程而创作的当代水墨中追求心手双畅。他的作品包括线格画、抽象山水、摄影以及以水墨为基础的装置。此次展出的“线格画”李华生基于自己人生所悟所感所开创的一种前所未有的艺术实践方式:在有规律的冥想状态中,他手绘出水平和垂直的线条,交错组成为线格。用毛笔写出的一根根线条,仿佛是艺术家在时间中所留下的“心电图”,捕捉并记录了身体、知觉、感受、情绪和思想的瞬间状态。每一根线条都在心神高度集中的状态中完成,这只有几十年执毛笔训练的水墨画家才能做到。线条上任何微小的波动都是“气”的凝聚和消散,体现出艺术家身体和精神的活力。

 

 

 

李津(1958年生于天津)以描绘当代生活中的食、色主题而广为人知,但从2015年开始,他以更直抒胸臆的大写意风格创作黑白的水墨绘画,将多年对色彩细腻精心的渲染,升华和回归为“墨分五色”的精妙。李津使用特制的大毛笔,在地上或墙上肆意泼洒,集合笔墨技巧及媒材的敏感度和偶然性。作品的水墨效果极富表现力,介乎形象和抽象之间,令人联想到禅宗绘画以及梁楷、徐渭及八大山人等人的写意语言。此次扬子艺博会期间,墨斋将着重展出李津90年代的经典作品,其中包括《狂草》系列花卉作品,以及佛教题材相关的小尺幅作品等。

 

 

彭康隆(1962年出生于台湾花莲)1988于国立台北艺术学院水墨组毕业。他的作品虽以传统水墨为主,却融汇西方当代观点及东方山水哲学,开创独有个人风格:突破传统水墨框架,捕捉最原始的欲望,笔触下之作品华丽中尽见张狂。此次展出的设色山水作品率性洒脱,不夹带嘲讽或玩世意味,亦不执着于工笔灵巧,却流露本真,并展现其多元化的精湛笔法与构图。让人仿佛游走于他内心的山水世界,体会他的所见所感。

 

 

秋麦(Michael Cherney, 1969年出生于纽约)毕业于纽约州立大学宾汉顿校区,主修中国文学和历史,后至北京语言学院进修中文。后自学摄影和中国艺术史。秋麦的学术背景和对中国艺术史的钻研使得他对中国山水画传统心怀永久的欣赏与敬意。他在北京居住二十余年,通过摄影旅行广泛游历了中国大地,其间不断寻找和艺术史有关的古迹、地点, 旨在“凝望着一个承载着广大的(有时令人生畏的)历史和文化记忆的地方,用摄影来捕捉它的某个瞬间, 虽转眼即逝,却也真实存在。”

 

 

徐累(1963年生于江苏南通)是重要的新工笔艺术家,这种早在宋代就兴起的写实派宫廷绘画形式,在徐累的笔下反映了他对超现实主义和存在主义的兴趣,以及这些文学形式在具有革命性意识的历史发展中的地位。不同于实验水墨艺术家将材料、过程和抽象视为自然客观和经验主观索引的模式,徐累利用形状、色彩和叙事来传达个人的深层意识和共有的社会文化潜意识。他对历史场景中孤独且通常是非人类主体的细致入微的描绘,能唤起一种神秘和超现实主义的感受,开辟了一条融合诗歌意象和现实主义技巧,略带忧郁的现代文学新道路。此次扬子艺博会期间展出的《消息树》以一高耸山峰置于画面正中,仿古代山石之形,拟明代书画大家董其昌之笔意。此峰周围则环绕以西画风格之山石,色彩艳丽夺目。董其昌之峰被西方山石围绕,恰似当今中国在西方势力重重包围下的地缘政治与文化形势。而徐累的“消息树”则主居客位,游弋于古与今,山水与国家这相互连接的不同现实之间。

 

 

 

王天德(1960年出生于上海)1988年毕业于浙江美术学院国画系,现任复旦大学上海视觉艺术学院传达设计学院院长、复旦大学艺术设计系主任,教授。王天德以其“火灼山水画”的独特技法最为著名,这种独一无二的水墨创作由两层宣纸组成,面层的宣纸被香支烫灼出细致的烧孔,底层以笔墨绘画,从而成为从传统山水和书法蜕变出来的当代艺术品。而在每一个新系列的作品中,他都在传统山水画的领域激发出新意念和加入新内容。高明潞曾经评价,王天德的独特之处是能够把美学隐喻和社会隐喻不露声色地结合在一起。把这些似乎和水墨无关的材料和水墨画在视觉和联想上达到统一和谐。此次扬子艺博会期间展出的山水作品融合了传统水墨、灼烧印痕及碑石拓片等元素,成为弥合文化断裂,重新对接传统的独特艺术语言。

 

 

 

关于扬子艺博会

南京扬子当代艺术博览会作为一场顶尖的国际化当代艺术博览会,将让更多人看到南京深厚的文化底蕴与当代艺术新形象。此次当代艺术博览会将邀请行业内非常重要的画廊和艺术机构参与其中,共聚金陵南京城,促进文化艺术交流,同时为全国乃至全球优质画廊机构近距离接触中国收藏家提供更多渠道。

 

 

关于墨斋

墨斋位于北京草场地,其使命是通过精心策划的展览项目,展现中国实验水墨对国际当代艺术的独特贡献。墨斋展览均由深度艺评、学术交流、中英双语出版和多媒体内容作为支持。墨斋每年举办三到四个展览,合作艺术家包括冰逸、戴光郁,何云昌、李津、李华生、王冬龄、杨诘苍、郑重宾,涵盖绘画、书法、雕塑、装置、行为、摄影、影像等多种媒介。自2012创立至今,墨斋多次被邀参与纽约军械库艺术展、香港巴塞尔艺术展、上海西岸艺术设计博览会等国际艺术活动,其代理作品已被大都会美术馆、洛杉矶郡艺术博物馆、香港M+博物馆等公共机构收藏。

Yangtze Art Fair 2019: Bingyi, Li Huasheng, Li Jin, Peng Kanglong, Michael Cherney, Xu Lei, Wang Tiande

10 - 13 October 2019

INK studio is proud to participate in Yangtze Art Fair from October 10 to 13 in Nanjing. Located at booth A02, INK studio will present works by seven contemporary artists who express their dynamic artistic concepts through the exploration of ink in different medium and formats. Highlights include Bingyi’s Archaeology of Waves series of abstract landscape and the Fairies series of exquisite fan leaves; Li Huasheng’s signature grid painting; Li Jin’s early masterpieces from the 90s including the Wild Cursive series of flower paintings and small works with Buddhist subjects; Peng Kanglong’s ink and color flower paintings and dramatic landscape handscrolls; Michael Cherney’s photography of Chinese landscapes, particularly the Yangzte River and the Yellow River; Xu Lei’s new work The Message Tree andInteract Trees; and Wang Tiande’s new landscape works with his unique artistic practice of layering, rubbing and burn marks.

 

 

An artist, architectural designer, curator, cultural critic, and social activist, Bingyi (b. 1975) has developed a multi-faceted practice that encompasses land and environmental art, site-specific architectural installation, musical and literary composition, ink painting, performance art, and filmmaking. Adopting a non-anthropocentric perspective and channeling nature’s creative agency, her work is centrally concerned with the themes of ecology, ruins, rebirth, and poetic imagination. During Yangtze Art Fair, INK studio will present Bingyi’s abstract landscape series as well as her exquisite album leaves, showing her exploration of the ink medium with profound diversity – channeling between macro and micro level of artistic practice and brushwork.

 

 

Li Huasheng (1944-2018) was a classically-trained ink painter who explored the shared phenomenology between mind-hand embodiment in classical brush and ink practice in calligraphy and landscape painting and time- and process-based practices employed in contemporary art. Li's practice included processual grid paintings, abstract ink landscapes, photography and ink-and-paper-based installations. During Yangtze Art Fair, INK studio will present his iconic grid-paintings, which capture and record the moment-by-moment phenomenological state of his body, perceptions, feelings, emotions and thoughts.

 

 

Li Jin (b. 1958) is best known for his lush and colorful depictions of sensory pleasures in contemporary China. From 2015 onwards, Li Jin has shifted his focus on monochrome ink paintings executed in the highly expressive xieyi style, applying spontaneous ink splashes using gigantic brushes. Dwelling in between concrete imagery and abstraction brush strokes, Li Jin’s works are extremely striking, reminiscent of the Zen paintings practiced by artists like Liang Kai, Xu Wei, and Zhu Da. During Yangtze Art Fair 2019, INK studio will present a selection of Li Jin’s early works the 90s, including his Wild Cursive series of flower paintings and small scale works of Buddhist subjects.

 

 

 

Peng Kanglong (b. 1962) graduated from Taipei National University of the Arts, majoring in Chinese ink painting. His ink paintings with spontaneous, wild and yet highly controlled brushworks subvert and transcend traditions in Eastern art, capturing his inner-world and exploring the subject of human desire. The ink-and-color flower painting as well as the magnificent landscape handscrolls presented during Yangtze Art Fair display Peng’s rigorous and expressive brushwork full of energy and emotion, without the limitation of a particular artistic tradition or style, allowing the audience to enjoy the landscape of his mind and experience, as a visitor, his imaginary world of brush and ink.

 

 

Michael Cherney (b. 1969) studied Chinese language and history at the State University of New York at Binghamton, followed by graduate language study at Beijing Language Institute. A self-taught photographer, Cherney's formal studies, combined with his rigorous personal studies of China's art historical past, have resulted in his abiding appreciation and even reverence for China's rich history and painting tradition, particularly landscape painting. His relationship with China has been deepened by his residence in Beijing for well over two decades along with his extensive travel throughout China, seeking out the specific sites that have historical relevance to his work. He has described his art as a way “to look upon a place imbued with a vast (sometimes daunting) accumulation of history and cultural memory, and then to capture one instant, fleeting, tangible moment of it with a photograph.”

 

 

Xu Lei (b. 1963) is widely recognized in China as the foremost artist in the revival of gongbi, a form of high imperial painting dating back to the Tang and Song Dynasties that employed a fine brush-line to depict figurative subjects in a realistic manner. His exquisitely detailed portrayal of solitary, usually non-human subjects in interior settings evokes a sense of mystery and surrealism, paving a new path to a literary if somewhat melancholic modernity that integrates poetic imagery and realist technique—what art critic Jeffrey Hantover described as “the quiet resignation of the realist”. His new series of works are set not within the confines of our human interior spaces but out in the world in the natural landscape. These landscapes, however, are not natural landscapes, but cultural ones—specifically, a-historic collages of selected art historic masterworks. Working in the early 21st century, Xu Lei’s art historic sources extend beyond the Chinese cultural sphere. According to the artist, the origins of gongbi painting lie in the religious mural painting of the Tang Dynasty and is technically similar to European fresco paintings of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance and Persian miniature painting which draws upon its own tradition of wall painting. Using such technical means, Xu Lei, in works such as the Message Tree, brings the landscape of the 17th century master Dong Qichang, the Italian Renaissance, and early Dutch 15thand 16th century along with their associated metaphoric significations into an aesthetically unified artistic space.

 

 

A prominent figure in the development of modern calligraphy, Wang Tiande (b. 1960) graduated from the Chinese Paintings Department of Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts (now China Academy of Art) in 1988 and later obtained his doctorate degree from its Calligraphy Department. He is now a professor of art at Fudan University in Shanghai. Wang Tiande has been continuously exploring the language of ink and its potential for spiritual expression. He often takes sources in classical landscapes and calligraphy, but he replaces the brushes with sticks of burning incense, executing his imagery in a unique artistic language. Imbuing the landscape with a certain contemporaneity, Wang Tiande creates an expansive virtual space in which contemporary people can engage with both nature and the ancients.

 

 

 

About Yangtze Art Fair

ART YANGTZE is Nanjing’s first contemporary art fair, connecting global galleries to Nanjing’s art world. Located in the former capital of China, Nanjing, the city has been at the heart of artistic production for centuries and continues to foster a burgeoning contemporary art scene today.

Showcasing galleries from Nanjing, Asia and beyond, ART YANGTZE is a space to discover and purchase works from both established and new artists, offering a refreshing perspective on the diversity of art from China today.

 

 

About INK studio
INK studio is an art gallery based in Beijing. Its mission is to present Chinese experimental ink as a distinctive contribution to contemporary transnational art-making in a closely-curated exhibition program supported by in-depth critical analysis, scholarly exchange, bilingual publishing, and multimedia production. INK studio curates three to four major solo projects per year with artists such as Bingyi, Dai Guangyu, He Yunchang, Li Jin, Li Huasheng, Wang Dongling, Yang Jiechang, and Zheng Chongbin and exhibits works of diverse media, including painting, calligraphy, sculpture, installation, performance, photography, and video. Since its inception in 2012, INK Studio has regularly appeared at art fairs such as the Armory Show (New York), Art Basel Hong Kong, and West Bund Art & Design (Shanghai) and placed works into major public collections, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Brooklyn Museum, and M+Museum, Hong Kong.