心画:井上有一与李华生

2021年6月5日 - 8月1日
概览

北京墨斋、京都思文阁和李华生基金会将共同推出日本现代战后书法家井上有一(1916-1985)与文革后抽象水墨文人画家李华生(1944-2018)双个展。展览将首次在中国展出2016年在金泽当代美术馆井上有一回顾展中展出的的重要单字作品《山》(1966)、《贫》(1972)和《足》(1973),以及其它8件可以展示井上有一艺术实践广度的罕见书法。展览将同时展出李华生的早期山水、抽象线格绘画及其它晚期抽象山水作品。这种视觉上的并列让观众有机会思考传统和现代性之辩,包括有关东方和西方,以及在东亚范围内展开的对话,涉及战后日本和后文革时期的中国、绘画与书法、佛教与艺术,以及偶像与偶像破坏。

 

 

井上有一

 

战后时期,由森田子龙和井上有一率领的一批前卫书法家脱离了书法界,创立了墨人会这一现代和平主义运动--让书法家与同时代的艺术家一样,可以独立自由地进行自己的艺术实践与创作。[2]

 

在墨人会书法家中,井上有一的艺术之路也许是最激进的。井上有一提出了一套书法理论,将其作为典型的当代艺术形式:书法的核心是将语言的含义、声音、象征性的图示和极具表现力的肢体动作结合在一起,形成统一的表达方式。而书写的普遍性亦使得书法成为最贴近人们生活的艺术形式。 [1]

 

井上有一拒绝以抄录文学、哲学或宗教经典文字为主的书法传统,而是另辟蹊径,专注于单个汉字的书写,将根据含义、形状和声音所选择的单个字符视为进行艺术思考和转换的对象。他受到早期使用黑色珐琅进行纯抽象实验的启发,改变了墨水的材料成分,以扩大其表达范围。[1]在井上有一的书法作品中,人们几乎可以毫无保留地看到画笔的运动、路径、角度、速度和压力(包括笔尖、笔身和笔头)。井上有一创造了一种极具透明度的物质媒介和视觉语言--这明显昭示了他的书法家身份,而作为艺术家,他使用这种新语言来追求一种原始和直接的艺术。

 

 

李华生

 

在他艺术生涯的前半段,李华生被公认为同辈中杰出的传统风景画家之一。在整个1980年代和90年代初,他的作品在国内外现当代中国画展览中展出。[5]

 

李华生形容他在美国的旅行非常"解放"。李华生回国之后,无法再用以往的传统管道作画。他过着隐士般的生活,不论寒暑,都定期前往喜马拉雅山。中国山水画家很少将喜马拉雅山作为绘画对象,李华生却被此山的宁静深远所吸引。旅途中,李华生常留宿在西藏的喇嘛寺庙,清晨,僧人们有节奏的诵经声使他醍醐灌顶。他意识到描绘喜马拉雅山的管道不必局限于描绘山的外形,也可以记录处于群山中的人的意识状态。[3]

 

到1998年,这种想法促使李华生发展出一种全新的、空前的水墨艺术实践--在严谨而沉思的状态下,李华生手工绘制出水平和垂直线条组成的巨大网格。每条线都记录了他身体的瞬间状态、知觉、感觉、情感和思想。李华生经过数十年的实践训练的笔法,使每条线都处于沉思集中状态,任何细微的波动都由气的波动或身心的活力产生。[3]

 

他在接下来的20年中持续实践这种方法,以至他这一时期的山水画创作发生了根本性的转变,最终形成了一系列标志性的一笔画系列。

 

 

东方现代主义 

 

本次展览的策展动力始于李华生,在他的职业生涯的后半段,他对井上有一的现代书法作品表现出了浓厚的兴趣。井上的现代书法曾经并且仍然经常与抽象表现主义画家例如弗朗兹·克莱恩(Franz Kline)的油画相提并论。[2]同样,李华生的抽象网格画也常被与艾格尼丝·馬丁(Agnes Martin)的极简网格画进行比较。这样的东西方框架被尤金尼亚·博格达诺瓦-昆默称为"假朋友"或错误的认知:表面上似乎存在联系,但实际上,两者在艺术和概念上完全不同。

 

相反,李华生对井上实践的兴趣促使我们重新考虑如何将笔墨作为一种媒介和一种艺术创作语言,而不是将水墨视为東方和传统的,而其他媒介视为西方和现代的或当代的,而是以东亚关于水墨艺术的历史性话语为基础-就井上而言为书法,对于李华生而言则为山水画-并认识到在任何地方都可能出现具有全球重要性的多元现代主义区域性的话语,例如战后日本的墨人会现代书法运动和后文化革命中国的当代水墨运动,都具有令人信服的国际影响力。

 

 

 

佛教与艺术

 

有趣的是,两位艺术家都承认他们各自的艺术发展深受佛教影响。其中,井上有一在20世纪早期受到了现代禅宗的影响。这种禅宗在战后时期对日本和国际艺术都有深远影响。而李华生则受到文人与艺术家自六朝便有的禅宗思想以及他在四川当地与西藏了解到的密宗的双重影响。 

 

诸如铃木大拙之类的现代禅宗思想家不仅对纽约的抽象表现主义画家有影响,而且对世界各地战后艺术家都产生了影响,包括现成品、装置、行为、光与空间、声音、具象诗歌和大地艺术-在纽约古根海姆等机构的大型展览和出版物中都有很好的记录。 [4]

 

然而,在东亚,佛教与艺术之间的联系不是一个新现象,而是一个非常古老的现象,始于通过沿丝绸之路的贸易和宗教交流,将佛教原理引入六朝美学(220-589)。佛教与书法艺术之间的联系并不稀奇,自书法于6世纪首次从中国传入日本以来,便深受佛教传播的影响,尤其受到禅宗从唐朝(618-907)中国传入平安時期(709-1185)日本的影响。中国的绘画,尤其是文人画,同样与禅宗密不可分。文人水墨画的理论与实践中一切重要的发展都是由熟悉并深受禅宗思想影响的艺术家所推动的,其中包括唐代的王维(699-759)、宋代的苏轼(1037-1101)以及明代的董其昌(1555-1636)。

 

尽管两位艺术家都从佛教中汲取灵感,但井上的书法线条和李华生的绘画线条有很多不同:

 

时间性

井上有一拓展了媒介的能力,使其捕捉动态与突然的笔触变化,包括方向、速度、压力、角度等。而李华生大大缩减与简化了毛笔的移动,因此他的作品中乍看上去彷彿没有笔触的变化。井上有一的时间性是一瞬间,而李华生的时间性则是缓慢而寂静地呈现出来的。如果说线条的时间性记录了过程,那么井上有一表现出的时间性便是离散而动态的,如一声呼喊。而李华生表现出的时间性则精细而绵延,偶尔震荡,周而往复,彷若呼吸一般。

  

表现性 

井上有一通过聚焦于单一的语言符号来简化形式,而李华生则完全抛弃了通过图像或隐喻来表达形式和意义。井上通过对于单个字符的关注,将我们对于历史和典籍注意力吸引至对于单一观点和个人体验的关注,李华生的线条不再描绘形式,线条本身成为了形式。线条不再通过人类的符号、图像或隐喻来表达,它自然直接地记录他的心灵内在,不受任何外物、图像或形式的影响。

  

人的维度

井上有一的书法作品以空前的原始和自由来捕捉他的个性和灵感,而李华生的作品则记录了他的思想和身体不断的自我约束。尽管李华生的思想客观存在,意图和重点明确,但他的性格却是隐藏在作品之中,无法被察觉的。

 

井上有一从来没有声称自己已开悟或修习禅宗,但是禅宗学者却在他的艺术中发现与禅宗原理异曲同工之处。同样,李华生也从未声称自己是佛教徒或练习过佛教冥想。然而,他确实承认他的线格绘画过程与佛教修行不无相似之处。毫无疑问,佛教为整个历史乃至今天的艺术家提供了灵感。那么,艺术反过来可以使我们对佛教之路的本质有深刻的理解吗?或许艺术甚至可以作为启蒙之道?

 

墨斋、思文阁和李华生基金会非常荣幸呈现两位大师的作品,探讨古典东亚水墨艺术的当代表现及其对东亚和国际现代性和当代性观念的重要性,以及古典和当代的修养和精神启蒙实践。

 


引用

[1]秋元雄二,井上有一回顾展(1955-1985),东京:神森基金会,2016

[2]尤金妮娅·博格达诺娃,墨人会:日本书法和战后先锋派,莱顿-波士顿:布里尔,2020年

[3]林似竹, 《李华生:他吞下了所有的大荒原...他变得自由自在》,《艺术:中国当代艺术杂志》第17期,第3期:48-57

[4]亚历山德拉·孟璐," 第三种思想:美国艺术家思考亚洲,1860-1989", 纽约:古根海姆博物馆出版物,2009年

[5]希尔伯格·杰罗姆和龚继遂,《矛盾:艺术生活,社会主义国家和中国画家李华生》西雅图:华盛顿大学出版社,1993年


 

 

墨斋画廊,北京,中国

www.inkstudio.com.cn

墨斋位于北京草场地,其使命是通过精心策划的展览项目,展现中国实验水墨对国际当代艺术的独特贡献。墨斋展览均由深度艺评,学术交流,中英双语出版和多媒体内容作为支持 。墨斋代表艺术家包括冰逸,何云昌,李津,李华生,彭康隆,王冬龄,王天德,杨诘苍,郑重宾,涵盖绘画,书法,雕塑,装置,行为,摄影,影像等多种媒介。自2012年创立至今,墨斋多 次被邀请参与纽约军械库艺术展,香港巴塞尔艺术展,上海西岸艺术设计博览会等国际艺术活动,其代理作品已被大都会美术馆,洛杉矶郡艺术博物馆,香港M +博物馆等公共机构收藏。

墨斋的展览与学术活动由艺术总监林似竹博士负责主持。林博士毕业于美国斯坦福大学,获中国艺术史博士学位;2006年获得富布赖特奖学金赞助在北京研究中国当代艺术市场。现为独立学者与策展人,居于美国加利福尼亚帕洛奥图。其曾为华盛顿赛克勒美术馆策划"文字游戏:徐冰的当代艺术"展览,也为斯坦福大学坎特视觉艺术中心策划过"边缘:当代中国艺术家与西方的邂逅"展览。2007年,她还参与策划了以水墨艺术为主题的成都双年展。此后,又作为特约策展人筹划了2010年在旧金山亚洲林博士在当代中国艺术领域著述颇丰,已写作了数部著作,论文和随笔,并制作了当代水墨艺术唱片片系列《墨咏》。林女士也是香港"水墨会",北京"三影堂摄影艺术中心"顾问委员会成员,以及《典藏国际版文选》,《亚太艺术杂志》编委成员。

 

思文阁,京都,日本

www.shibunkaku.co.jp

思文阁于1937年在京都成立,是日本古典和现代水墨书画的主要经销商之一。 思文阁借鉴了前帝国首都的艺术和文化,制定了独特的画廊规划,跨越文化和地理边界、时期和流派的界线。思文阁专门研究早期近现代日本美术,重点为书法和绘画,并将其计划扩展到战后和当代艺术,包括战后现代主义书法家井上有一和战后抽象陶艺家、走泥社成员森田子龙,以及使用传统水墨、陶瓷、玻璃和青铜媒介工作的当代艺术家。

思文阁的画廊项目基于广泛的学术研究,除自己的出版物外,还支持日本国内和国际学术机构和博物馆的研究、出版和展览策划。思文阁是在金泽21世纪当代艺术博物馆举办的井上有一百年回顾展(2016)出借和贡献者,和清华大学美术馆"井上有一:东瀛的钟声"(2020-2021),以及尤金妮娅·博格达诺娃教授的专著《墨人社:日本书法和战后先锋派》(2021年)的支持者和贡献者。

 

李华生艺术基金会,西雅图,美国

李华生艺术基金会成立于2018年,由艺术家李华生捐赠。该基金会是专门为慈善目的而组织和运营的非营利公益基金会。它的目标是促进水墨在视觉艺术中作为一种媒介、语言和表达手段。基金会具有以下公共使命:公开收集当代水墨艺术作品,供艺术家、学者、研究人员、大学和博物馆使用;水墨艺术及其当代实践的学术研究;面向公众的现代和当代水墨艺术公开展览;以及关于艺术家的水墨艺术及其当代实践的纪录片和媒体。

基金会目前正在组织李华生艺术作品的大型博物馆回顾展,出版有关李华生艺术生涯的学术专著,并为其编撰目录。

 

 

 

 

 

作品
空间图

Painting the Heart-Mind: The Art of Inoue Yūichi and Li Huasheng

5 June - 1 August 2021
Overview

INKstudio, Beijing, Shibunkaku, Kyoto, and the Li Huasheng Art Foundation are co-organizing a dual artist exhibition of modern calligraphies by post-war, Japanese calligrapher Inoue Yūichi(1916–1985) and abstract paintings by post-Cultural Revolution literati ink painter Li Huasheng(1944–2018).  As part of the exhibition, the major single-character works Yama(1966), Hin(1972) and Taru(1973)—last exhibited and published in Inoue’s solo retrospective at the Kanazawa Museum of Contemporary Art in 2016 [1]—will be exhibited in China for the first time accompanied by eight other rarely seen calligraphies that document the breadth of Inoue’s artistic practice. Contemporaneously, a selection of early landscapes, abstract grid paintings and late abstract landscapes by Li Huasheng will be exhibited alongside the eleven works by Inoue. This visual juxtaposition gives viewers an opportunity to rethink debates about tradition and modernity often couched in terms of East and West as, instead, a dialog within East Asian between post-war Japan and post-Cultural Revolution China, between calligraphy and painting, between Buddhism and the arts, and between two socio-cultural icons and iconoclasts.

 

Inoue Yūichi

 

During the post-war period, a group of avant-garde calligraphers lead by Morita Shiryū and Inoue Yūichi broke away from the calligraphy establishment and formed Bokujinkai as a modern, egalitarian movement in which calligraphers could practice their art with the freedom and autonomy of contemporary artists.[2]

 

Of the Bokujin calligraphers, Inoue Yūichis artistic path was perhaps the most radical. Inoue developed a theory of calligraphy as the quintessential contemporary art form: at its core, calligraphy brings linguistic meaning, sound, symbolic picturing and expressive gesture together into a unified expression; in addition, because everyone in society can write, calligraphy is the art form closest to peoples lives. [1]

 

Rejecting the tradition of inscribing classic literary, philosophical or religious texts, Inoue developed a practice of rendering single words thereby treating individual characters—selected for meaning, shape and sound—as objects for artistic contemplation and transformation. Inspired by his early experiments in pure abstract calligraphy using black enamel, Inoue also altered the material constituents of his ink to expand its expressive range. [1] As a result, in Inoue’s calligraphy one can follow the movement, path, angle, speed and pressure of his brush—including its tip, body and heel—with almost complete fidelity. In this way, Inoue created a material medium and visual language of tremendous transparency and he used this new language to pursue an art of raw and utter directness.

 

Li Huasheng

 

In the early half of his career, Li Huasheng was widely recognized one of the pre-eminent traditional landscape artists of his generation and throughout the 1980s and early 90s was featured in national and international exhibitions of modern and contemporary Chinese painting at home in China and abroad. [5]

 

Li Huasheng described his travels in the United States as particularly liberating and upon his return to China, he felt unable to continue painting in the traditional manner. Instead, living as a reclusive, he departed on regular and extended excursions into the Himalayas; Chinese landscape artists had never addressed these mountains as a subject and he felt drawn to their remoteness. During his travels, Li Huasheng frequently stayed overnight in Tibetan Buddhist monasteries and woke, in the early hours, to the rhythmic sounds of the resident monks chanting their morning prayers. It then occurred to him that the way he would paint the landscape was not by depicting its outward form but by recording his state of mind while living amidst the mountains themselves.[3]

 

By 1998, this insight led Li Huasheng to develop an entirely novel, unprecedented practice as an ink artist: while in a disciplined, meditative state, Li Huasheng hand-limned vast grids of horizontal and vertical lines. Each hand-brushed line captured and recorded the moment-by-moment state of his body, perceptions, feelings, emotions and thoughts. Holding the brush as only a painter trained through decades of practice is able, Li Huasheng deployed each line in a state of meditative concentration, so that any minor fluctuations are directly attributable to fluctuations in qi, or the vital energy of his body and mind. [3]

 

This practice occupied him for the next twenty years and led to radical transformations in his contemporaneous landscape painting practice culminating in an iconic series of one-stroke paintings.

 

Eastern Modernisms

 

The curatorial impetus for this exhibition began with Li Huasheng who, throughout the latter half of his career, expressed a keen interest in the modern calligraphic works of Inoue Yūichi.  Inoue’s modern calligraphy was and still is frequently compared to the oil paintings of Abstract Expressionists such as Franz Kline.[2] Similarly, Li Huashengs abstract grid paintings have been compared to the minimalist grid paintings of Kline’s contemporary Agnes Martin. Such East-West framings are what Eugenia Bogdanova-Kummer calls “false friends” or false cognates: on the surface there appears to be a connection, but in reality, the two—Inoue and Kline; Li and Martin—are completely different artistically and conceptually.

 

Instead, Li Huashengs interest in Inoue’s practice prompts us to reconsider how we think about brush and ink as a medium and as a language for art making—not in terms of ink is Eastern and therefore traditional and other media are Western and therefore modern or contemporary—but in terms grounded in the historic, East Asian discourse on the brush-and-ink arts—calligraphy in the case of Inoue and landscape painting in the case of Li Huasheng—and in terms cognizant that plural modernisms of global importance may arise anywhere a regional discourse—such as the Bokujinkai modern calligraphy movement in Postwar Japan and the contemporary ink movement in post-Cultural-Revolution China—asserts a compelling, international influence.

 

Buddhism and Art 

 

Intriguingly, both artists openly acknowledged the influence of Buddhism in the development of their art—Inoue Yūichi by a form of Modernist Zen which exerted a tremendous influence on art of the Postwar period both inside Japan and throughout the rest of the world and Li Huasheng by the Chan thought endemic to literati thinkers and artists since the Six Dynasties inflected by the esoteric Buddhism practiced in the temples of his native Sichuan and neighboring Tibet.

 

The influence of Modernist Zen thinkers such as D.T. Suzuki on not just the Abstract Expressionist painters in New York but on Postwar artists worldwide working in media synonymous with contemporary art practice —such as the ready-made, installation, performance, light-and-space, sound, concrete poetry and land art—has been well documented in major exhibitions and publications by instituttions such as the New York Guggenheim. [4]

 

In East Asia, however, the connection between Buddhism and the arts is not a new phenomenon but a very old one beginning with the introduction of Buddhist principles—through trade and religious exchange along the Silk Road—into the aesthetics of the Six Dynasties (220–589). The introduction of calligraphy to Japan from China in the 6th century was inseparably influenced by the subsequent transmissionof Buddhism, particularly Chan/Zen Buddhism from Tang Dyansty (618–907) China to Nara (710–794) and Heian (709–1185) period Japan. Painting in China, particularly literati painting, was also inseparable from Chan as almost every major development in the theory and practice of literati ink painting was precipitated by artists—Wang Wei (699–759) of the Tang, Su Shi (1037–1101) of the Song (960–1279) and Dong Qichang (1555–1636) of the Ming (1368–1644)—who were deeply learned in and influenced by Chan thought.

 

Inriguingly, although both artists purport to draw inspiration from Buddhism, Inoue’s calligraphic line and Li Huasheng’s painterly line couldn’t be more different:

 

Time dimension. Whereas Inoue Yūichi expands the capacity of his medium to capture dynamic and sometimes sudden changes in brush direction, speed, pressure, and angle, Li Huasheng radically reduces and simplifies the dynamic range of his brushwork so that within a single work, his brushwork appears at first never to change.  If a lines time-dimension records a process, Inoues is a discrete, dynamic event—like a shout—and Li Huashengs is a subtle, unbroken, sometimes oscillating, recurring action—like breathing.

 

Expressive dimension. While Inoue Yūichi simplifies form through his focus on a single, linguistic symbol, Li Huasheng abandons form and the expression of meaning through image or metaphor altogether. Whereas Inoue’s focus on a single word shifts our attention from history and classical scripture to a single idea and our personal experience, Li Huashengs line no longer depicts form, rather it becomes form itself; it doesnt express—through human symbol, image or metaphor—rather, it records naturally and directly his heart-mind void of any object, image or form.

 

Human dimension. Whereas Inoue Yūichis calligraphic line captures his personality and inspiration with unprecedented rawness and freedom, Li Huashengs processual line records his heart-mind and body engaged in an unfolding act of self-discipline. Although his heart-mind is emphatically present and its intent focused and clear, Li Huashengs personality, unliked Inoue’s, is undetectable, sublimated.

 

Inoue Yūichi never claimed to be enlightened or to practice Zen. Rather, it was the Zen scholars who found in his art parallels with Zen principles. Similarly, Li Huasheng never claimed to be a Buddhist or to practice Buddhist meditation. Nevertheless, he did admit that his grid painting process might share some parallels with Buddhist cultivation practices. That Buddhism has provided inspiration for artists throughout history and into today has been established beyond question. But can art, in turn, provide us with insight into the nature of the Buddhist path?  Or perhaps even serve as a path of enlightened self-cultivation in and of itself?

 

INKstudio, Shibunkaku and the Li Huasheng Art Foundation are honored to present the works of these two great masters in dialog on the contemporary expression of the classical East Asian brush-and-ink arts of calligraphy and painting and their importance to East Asian and international notions of modernity and contemporaneity, and to both classical and contemporary practices of self cultivation and spiritual enlightenment.

 


 

Sources

[1]Akimoto, Yuji. A Yu-Ichi Inoue Retrospective: 1955–1985. Tokyo: Kamimori Foundation, 2016.

[2]Bogdanova-Kummer, Eugenia. Bokujinkai: Japanese Calligraphy and the Postwar Avant-Garde. Leiden – Boston: Brill, 2020.

[3]Erickson, Britta. Li Huasheng: He Swallows in All the Great Wilderness . . . He Becomes Wildly Free.” Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art 17, No. 3: 48–57.

[4]Munroe, Alexandra. The Third Mind: American Artists Contemplate Asia, 1860–1989. New York: Guggenheim Museum Publications, 2009.

[5]Silbergeld, Jerome and Gong Jisui. Contradictions: Artistic Life, the Socialist State, and the Chinese Painter Li Huasheng. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1993. 


 

 

INKstudio, Beijing, China
www.inkstudio.com.cn

 

INK Studio is an art gallery based in Beijing. Its mission is to present Chinese experimental ink as a distinctive contribution to contemporary transnational art-making in a closely-curated exhibition program supported by in-depth critical analysis, scholarly exchange, bilingual publishing, and multimedia production. Representing more than 13 artists, including Bingyi, He Yunchang, Li Jin, Li Huasheng, Peng Kanglong, Wang Dongling, Wang Tiande, Yang Jiechang, and Zheng Chongbin, the gallery exhibits works of diverse media, including painting, calligraphy, sculpture, installation, performance, photography, and video. Since its inception in 2012, INK Studio has regularly appeared at art fairs such as the Armory Show (New York), Art Basel Hong Kong, and West Bund Art & Design (Shanghai) and placed works into major public collections, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Brooklyn Museum, and M+, Hong Kong.

 

Dr. Britta Erickson, INK Studios Artistic Director, drives all aspects of its programming and scholarly activities. An independent scholar and curator living in Palo Alto, California, she has curated major exhibitions at the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Washington, D.C. (Word Play: Contemporary Art by Xu Bing) and the Cantor Center for Visual Arts, Stanford (On the Edge: Contemporary Chinese Artists Encounter the West). In 2007 she co-curated the Chengdu Biennial, which focused on ink art, and in 2010 she was a contributing curator for Shanghai: Art of the City (Asian Art Museum, San Francisco). Dr. Erickson has written numerous books, articles, and essays on contemporary Chinese art. She has produced a series of short films about ink painting entitled The Enduring Passion for Ink. Ms. Erickson is on the advisory boards of The Ink Society (Hong Kong) and Three Shadows Photography Art Centre (Beijing), as well as the editorial boards of Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art and ART Asia Pacific. In 2006 she was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship to conduct research in Beijing on the Chinese contemporary art market. Dr. Erickson received her Ph. D. in Chinese Art History from Stanford University.

 

Shibunkaku, Kyoto, Japan

www.shibunkaku.co.jp

 

Shibunkaku was established in Kyoto in 1937 as one the of foremost dealers of classical and modern ink painting and calligraphy in Japan. Drawing upon the arts and culture of the former imperial capital, Shibunkaku has developed a unique gallery program that spans cultural and geographical borders, periods and genre. Specializing in early modern and modern Japanese fine art with an emphasis on calligraphy and painting, Shibunkaku has expanded its program to include postwar and contemporary art including the post-war modernist calligraphers Inoue Yūichi and Morita Shiryu, post-war abstract ceramicists of the Sodeisha movement and contemporary artists working in the traditional media of ink, ceramics, glass and bronze.

 

Shibunkakus gallery program is based on extensive scholarly research and, in addition to its own publications, supports the research, publishing and exhibition programming of academic institutions and museums both locally in Japan and internationally.  Shibunkaku was a lender and contributor to the retrospective exhibition A Centennial Exhibition Inoue Yūichi at the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa (2016) and Yuichi Inoue: Bell Tolls from Japan at the Tsinghua University Art Museum in Beijing (2020-2021) and a supporter of and contributor to Professor Eugenia Bogdanova-Kummers monograph Bokujinkai: Japanese Calligraphy and the Postwar Avant-Garde (2021).

 

The Li Huasheng Art Foundation, Seattle, WA, USA

 

The Li Huasheng Art Foundation was established in 2018 and endowed by the artist Li Huasheng. The Foundation is a Public Benefit Nonprofit Foundation organized and operated exclusively for charitable purposes. Its mission is to advance ink as a medium, language and means of expression in the visual arts. The Foundation pursues its public mission through a Public Collection of contemporary ink artwork for use by artists, scholars, researchers, universities and museums; Scholarly Research on the field of ink art and its contemporary practice; Public Exhibitions of modern and contemporary ink art for the general public; and Documentary Books and Media on the topic of ink art and its contemporary practice by living artists.

 

The Foundation is currently organizing a major museum retrospective exhibition of Li Huashengs artwork, publishing a academic monograph on Li Huashengs artistic career and compiling a catalogue raisonné for the artist.

Works
Installation Views