乱书: 王冬龄

2016年09月17日 - 11月20日

点击下载媒体报

 

墨斋画廊荣幸地宣布呈现艺术家王冬龄个展《乱书》。王冬龄是现今最具影响力的书法家之一,乱书作为一种从根基上颠覆传统书法艺术的新书体,是其长期艺术实践积累蜕变而成的突破性创新。本次展览由墨斋艺术总监林似竹博士策展,是首次深度探讨其乱书作品的重要展览。此外,艺术家的里程碑式个展将于同期在北京太庙举行(2016年11月6日至14日)。

 

王冬龄(1945年生于江苏)集杰出的传统书法家和先锋实验艺术家于一身,在传统和当代艺术领域中不懈探索并拓展出新的境界。他也是唯一一个在中国美术馆举办过三次个展的艺术家。在六十余年的艺术生涯中,他始终在尺幅、表演性、材料性等多方面摸索实践,探讨中国书法的当代定义。他将巨幅狂草的书写扩展至公共空间,并以此闻名中外。同时,受到1989年至1992年在美国期间教学和生活经历的启发,他亦保持着对抽象书法及多种媒介的并行探索。

 

乱书兼容王冬龄的传统书法及实验性艺术,深植于书法历史脉络,又极具国际前瞻性。乱书完全打破传统书法中的“行气”,字与字、行与行之间重叠交织成浑沌的一体,将文字推至可识读性的边缘。乱书线条的肌理和韵律错综变化,却与文本之间维系着微妙的关联。“乱”中实则有“治”,其间的肆意挥洒建基于艺术家深厚的书法修养,每个字的结字依旧严格按照草书规律。

 

乱书是逾越也是超脱,是背离也是革新,推进了徐渭(1521-1592年)和黄宾虹(1865-1955年)等前人别开生面的书法实践。阅读和观看间的张力转化为一种普世的审美经验:无论观者能否认读汉字,是否熟悉所书写的经典,都必须以全新的角度去面对作品。乱书将文化还原于太初的浑沌。我们穿梭其中,或陶醉神往,或迷失疏离,似乎喻示了在电子化和全球化的当下对古典中国文化价值的探求。乱书的另一重要灵感来源于西湖纠葛交错的残荷,艺术家坚持十余年拍摄捕捉它们于凋零中蕴涵的生机与美感。

 

本次展览精选并囊括不同媒介、尺幅和效果的乱书作品,包括巨幅作品《千字文》(2014)和布鲁克林美术馆现场书写的《心经》(2015),并同时播放《心经》书写现场视频。这些巨幅作品在其尺幅与速度、墨色的涨退中交织谱写和谐的韵律之美。另外展出的一些中小幅作品内容多取自唐宋抒情诗词,书写媒介包括油画布、水彩纸等。

 

墨斋一向致力于成为推广王冬龄艺术的重要平台,除协办其布鲁克林美术馆的现场书写活动外,还将推出关于其作品的双语学术出版物。《乱书》是墨斋继广受好评的《墨意象》(2013-14年冬)后举办的第二个王冬龄个展。《墨意象》展出了王冬龄的抽象书法和绘画,而《乱书》则呈现艺术家将书法艺术推向未来和世界的不懈努力。

Writing Chaos: Wang Dongling

17 September - 20 November 2016

Download the media packet.

 

INK studio is pleased to announce Writing Chaos, the first exhibition to unfold the full significance of Wang Dongling’s groundbreaking Chaos Script (luanshu). Wang Dongling is China’s most renowned calligrapher—the standard-bearer for an art form central to Chinese culture throughout history. Now, late in his career, he has introduced his most radical innovation: a new calligraphic script style that overturns the very foundations of the art. Curated by Dr. Britta Erickson, INK studio Artistic Director, the exhibition will open on September 17, 2016 and remain on view through November 20, 2016, complementing Wang's landmark solo exhibition in the Imperial Ancestral Temple of the Forbidden City (November 6-14, 2016). 

 

Wang Dongling (b. 1945 in Jiangsu, China) has the unique status of being both a consummate traditional calligrapher and an avant-garde experimentalist. He is the only artist to have been granted three solo shows at the National Art Museum of China. In a career spanning six decades, he has consistently redefined Chinese calligraphy through experimentations with scale, performance, and materiality. He is best known for his monumental public performances in "mad cursive" script in China and abroad. He also has developed an ever-evolving parallel practice in gestural abstractions and works on alternative media, catalyzed by his exposure to postmodern Western art while living and teaching in the United States in 1989-1992.

 

Chaos Script is the culmination of Wang Dongling’s lifelong pursuit of an art that is at once universal and Chinese, forward-looking and firmly grounded in the past. In a move unprecedented in history, Wang Dongling breaks away completely from the implied grid of traditional calligraphy, interweaving individual characters and entire columns into an amorphous field. As the text verges on illegibility, its linguistic meaning becomes an open question. The calligraphic lines take flight in their variations in texture and rhythm, and yet remain tenuously tethered to the text as musical performance is to score and meter. The chaos is in fact controlled chaos, its freedoms honed by a lifetime of daily discipline: the construction of Wang Dongling's every character still satisfies the desiderata of classical calligraphy.

 

At once transgression and transcendence, negation and renewal, Chaos Script fulfills the incomplete radical experiments of past masters like Xu Wei (1521-1593) and Huang Binhong (1865-1955)—the latter Wang Dongling's teacher's teacher. Here the tension between reading and seeing becomes a universal ground for aesthetic experience: whether literate in Chinese or knowledgeable in the classical texts that Wang writes, the viewer is compelled to experience them afresh. Chaos Script restores culture to a state of primal nature. The poetics of navigating it—being by turns absorbed, alienated, and set adrift—becomes a metaphor for the process of defining for ourselves the meaning of classical Chinese culture in the digitalized, globalized present. It is appropriate that an inspiration of Chaos Script is the tangled stems of wilted lotuses on the West Lake of his adopted home of Hangzhou, an image for him of impending vitality within dissolution.

 

Writing Chaos presents a careful selection of works ranging in medium, scale, and effect. Among the highlights are Wang Dongling's tour-de-force room-sized renditions of The Thousand Character Classic (2014), a canonical calligraphic text in which no character is repeated, and the Heart Sutra (2015), a foundational scripture of Mahayana Buddhism. These monumental works' symphonic quality is revealed in their scale and pace, and in the waxing and waning of tonality. The Heart Sutra is accompanied by a video of its live performance at the Brooklyn Museum in November 2015. Also on view are medium- and small-scale works that rehearse sensual and erotically-charged poems of the Tang and Song dynasties, some on the non-traditional media of canvas and watercolor paper.

 

Committed to being the premier venue for major presentations of Wang Dongling's innovations, INK studio cosponsored his Brooklyn Museum performance and is preparing a bilingual academic monograph on his work. Writing Chaos follows Wang Dongling's widely acclaimed solo exhibition at INK studio, The Origins of Abstraction (winter 2013-4), which showcased his abstract paintings and calligraphic abstractions. The present exhibition celebrates Wang Dongling's unique position as an artist who, with understated daring and a natural ease, has forged a path for calligraphy towards the future and the world.