1944年生于四川宜宾,现在四川成都生活和工作

 

李华生是一位接受过传统训练的水墨画家,他在书法、山水以及基于时间和过程而创作的当代水墨中追求心手双畅。他的作品包括线格画、抽象山水、摄影以及以水墨为基础的装置。

 

李华生在进行抽象画探索前,已经被广泛地认为是同辈山水画家中的佼佼者。曾参加过重要展览,如中国美术馆"十人中国画展"(1981);美国八大博物馆"现代中国画巡回展"(1983-1985);香港艺术馆、新加坡艺术馆、伦敦大英博物馆、德国东亚艺术博物馆"传统和创新:二十世纪中国画巡回展"。在此期间,李华生还在美国哈佛大学、耶鲁大学、密歇根大学、华盛顿大学(1987)以及新加坡国家博物馆(1992)举办过个展。

 

李华生以"解放"二字描述他在美国的日子。他不会英文,没人知道他是著名山水画家,所以他没有社会、文化和历史给予的任何压力,可以自由自在地生活。李华生回国之后,无法再用以往的传统方式作画。他过着隐士般的生活,不论寒暑,都定期前往喜马拉雅山。中国山水画家很少将喜马拉雅山作为绘画对象,李华生却被此山的宁静深远所吸引。旅途中,李华生常留宿在西藏的喇嘛寺庙,清晨,僧人们有节奏的诵经声使他醍醐灌顶。他意识到描绘喜马拉雅山的方式不必局限于描绘山的外形,也可以记录处于群山中的人的意识状态。

 

1998年,这一深刻的见解引导李华生开创了一种新的、前所未有的实践方式:在有规律的冥想状态中,他手绘出水平和垂直的线条,交错组成为线格。用毛笔写出的一根根线条,仿佛是艺术家在时间中所留下的"心电图",捕捉并记录了身体、知觉、感受、情绪和思想的瞬间状态。每一根线条都在心神高度集中的状态中完成,这只有几十年执毛笔训练的水墨画家才能做到。线条上任何微小的波动都是"气"的凝聚和消散,体现出艺术家身体和精神的活力。李华生坚持这种实践已长达十年之久。

 

从2000年"线格"作品在上海双年展上赢得国际关注以来,李华生的这一系列作品几乎成了各类当代水墨展览,尤其是抽象水墨展览中的必展品。李华生的线格作品曾两次入选上海双年展(2000,2002),并参加了广东美术馆"中国水墨实验二十年"展(2001);广州美术馆"首届中国艺术三年展"(2002);中国美术馆"开放的时代"展(2003)、"水墨新维度"展(2013);深圳美术馆"国际水墨双年展"(2004,2008);深圳画院"实验水墨回顾展"(2005);上海美术馆"形而上二〇〇五"展(2005);北京中华世纪坛"首届中国当代艺术年鉴展"(2006);上海多伦现代美术馆"水墨再生"展(2006)、"水墨当下"展(2009);成都当代美术馆"第三届成都双年展"(2007);深圳何香凝艺术馆OCT当代艺术中心"气韵"展(2007)、"收藏展"(2013),以及北京今日美术馆"文脉当代·中国版本 "展(2007)、"水色"展(2009)、"中国式书写"展(2011)。

 

国际策展人和评论家高名潞已经意识到李华生水墨实践的重要性,并将他的线格作品纳入重要展览,如在北京中华世纪坛和纽约州立大学布法罗分校安德森美术馆举办的"中国极多主义"展(2003);北京东京艺术项目"念珠和笔触"展(2003);北京墙美术馆、西班牙帕尔马、巴塞罗那、马德里美术馆 "意派:中国抽象三十年"展 (2008);北京今日美术馆"意派"展(2009);广东美术馆、魏玛康斯萨勒展览馆 "中国当代艺术展"(2005);首尔市立美术馆"中韩当代水墨画展"(2005);横滨ZAMA当代艺术馆"水墨叙事"展(2007);台北市立美术馆"形·意·质·韵"展(2008);纽约大都会艺术博物馆"水墨艺术:当代中国艺术的今夕与共"展(2013)。

 

 此次展览"过程·心神·山水"的展出时间为2014年11月29日至2015年1月31日。展览策展人为墨斋画廊艺术总监林似竹,她对李华生自1998年脱离传统画风以来的艺术实践做了广泛而深入的研究。展览所选的作品包括多幅"线格"画,这是李华生的标志性作品,它们在长期演变中形成了丰富而微妙的变化;李华生极少面世的抽象山水画,这些作品与"线格"画创作于同一时期;一组将"线格"和山水或书法结合在一起新作。有一件巨幅"线格"作品特别引人注目,它由五屏组成,每扇屏尺寸为365x148厘米。三楼的禅室是专门为了本次展览设计建造的,观众可以在其中享受更好的视觉和心灵上的体验。

 

收藏李华生作品的公共机构包括北京中国美术馆、 上海美术馆、广东美术馆、深圳何香凝美术馆OCT当代艺术中心、 纽约大都会博物馆、伦敦大英博物馆、芝加哥美术学院、 哈佛大学、耶鲁大学和华盛顿大学。

 

普林斯顿大学中国艺术史教授谢伯轲曾以李华生的传统山水为主题,写过一本专著《矛盾:艺术生活、社会主义国家与中国画家李华生》(1993)。林似竹计划继谢教授之后, 再写一本专著《李华生:过程、心神、山水》,来研究李华生脱离传统画风后的作品。 该书将通过艺术出版商D.A.P.向全球发行。此外,还有一部关于李华生的纪录片,收录于林似竹导演,温成拍摄的系列记录片《墨咏》中。

b. 1944 in Yibin, Sichuan province, lives and works in Chengdu, Sichuan Province

 

Li Huasheng is a classically-trained ink painter who explores the shared phenomenology between mind-hand embodiment in classical brush and ink practice in calligraphy and landscape painting and time- and process-based practices employed in contemporary art. Li's practice includes processual grid paintings, abstract ink landscapes, photography and ink-and-paper-based installations.

 

Before embarking on his exploration of processual abstraction, Li Huasheng was widely recognized one of the pre-eminent traditional landscape artists of his generation and was featured in a national exhibition of China's ten leading contemporary artists at the National Art Museum of China, Beijing (1981), the Contemporary Chinese Painting exhibition that toured eight museums across the United States (1983-1985), and the seminal exhibition Tradition and Innovation that traveled to the Hong Kong Museum of Art, Singapore Art Museum, the British Museum, London, and the Museum für Ostasiatische Kunst Köln, Germany (1995). During this time, Li also traveled outside of China where he held solo exhibitions at Harvard University, Yale University, University of Michigan, and University of Washington (1987) and at the National Museum of Singapore (1992).

 

Li Huasheng describes his travels in the United States as liberating. Unable to speak English, he was free to experience life unencumbered by the social, cultural and historical expectations that accompanied his status as one of China's most highly acclaimed living landscape artists. When Li returned from the US, he no longer felt able to paint landscapes in the traditional manner as he had before. Living now as a reclusive, he departed on seasonal excursions into the Himalayas-Chinese landscape artists had never addressed these mountains as a subject and he felt drawn to their remoteness. During his travels, Li frequently stayed overnight in Tibetan Buddhist monasteries and woke, in the early hours, to the rhythmic sounds of the resident monks chanting their morning prayers.  It then occurred to him that the way he would paint the Himalayas was not by depicting their outward form but by recording his state of mind while living amidst the mountains themselves.

 

By 1998, this insight had led Li Huasheng to develop an entirely novel, unprecedented practice as an ink artist: while in a disciplined, meditative state, Li hand-limns vast grids of horizontal and vertical lines. Each hand-brushed line —like an embodied EKG of his being in time— captures and records the moment-by-moment phenomenological state of his body, perceptions, feelings, emotions and thoughts. Holding the brush as only a painter trained through decades of practice is able, Li deploys each line in a state of meditative concentration, so that any minor fluctuations are directly attributable to fluctuations in qi, or the vital energy of his body and mind. This practice has occupied him for over a decade.

 

Since the year 2000, when they drew international notice at the Shanghai Biennale, Li Huasheng's grid paintings have been an essential feature of almost every major exhibition of Chinese contemporary ink painting, particularly abstract ink painting. Li's grids have been featured twice at the Shanghai Biennale (2000, 2002), the Guangdong Museum of Art (2001), the First Chinese Art Triennial Exhibition at the Guangzhou Art Museum (2002), the National Art Museum of China in Beijing (2003, 2013); the International Ink Painting Biennale at the Shenzhen Art Museum (2004, 2008), the Shenzhen Fine Art Institute (2005); the Shanghai Art Museum (2005); the China Millennium Monument in Beijing (2006), the Shanghai Doulun Museum of Modern Art (2006, 2009); Reboot: The Third Chengdu Biennale at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chengdu (2007), the OCT Contemporary Art Terminal of the He Xiangning Art Museum in Shenzhen (2007, 2013), and the Today Art Museum in Beijing (2007, 2009, 2011).

 

International curators and critics such as Gao Minglu have recognized the importance of Li's processual practice and featured his grid paintings in seminal exhibits such as Chinese Maximalism at the China Millennium Monument in Beijing and the UB Anderson Gallery at University at Buffalo in New York (2003); Prayer Beads and Brush Strokes at Beijing Tokyo Art Projects, Beijing (2003); Yi Pai: Thirty Years of Chinese Abstraction at the Wall Museum in Beijing and La CaixaForum Palma de Mallorca, Barcelona, and Madrid, Spain (2008); Yi Pai at the Today Art Museum in Beijing (2009); Ink and Paper-Exhibition of Contemporary Chinese Art at the Guangdong Museum of Art and the Kunsthalle in Weimar, Germany (2005); Korean-Chinese Contemporary Ink Painting at the Seoul Museum of Art, South Korea (2005); Ink Narrative at the Yokohama Art Project in Yokohama, Japan (2007); Form, Idea, Essence and Rhythm at the Taipei Fine Arts Museum (2008); and Ink Art: Past as Present in Contemporary China at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York (2013).

 

For Process, Mind and Landscape –November 29, 2014 through January 31, 2015– Ink Studio Artistic Director, Britta Erickson, has curated a solo retrospective that surveys Li Huasheng's artistic practice since his 1998 break with tradition. The exhibition includes a wide selection of Li's signature processual grids that reveal rich and subtle variations developed within this long-standing series; a focused selection of Li's rarely-exhibited, highly-abstract ink landscapes created contemporaneously with his processual grids; and a new series of works that unites Li's grids with the his explorations of gestural abstraction in both landscape painting and calligraphy.  Exhibited works include a singular, monumental set of iconic grid paintings –0699 (five panels each 365 x 148 cm)– and a special meditation room where visitors can spend an extended amount of time immersed in the experience of Li's process.

 

Li Huasheng's works can be found in the permanent collections of the National Art Museum of China, Beijing, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, the British Museum, London, the Chicago Art Institute, Chicago, the Shanghai Art Museum, Shanghai, the Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou, the He Xiangning Art Museum-OCT Contemporary Art Terminal, Shenzhen, and the permanent art collections of Harvard University, Yale University, University of Washington and University of Michigan.

 

Li Huasheng's traditional landscape painting is the subject of a monograph by Jerome Silbergeld, P.Y. and Kinmay W. Tang Professor of Chinese Art History at Princeton University, Contradictions: Artistic Life, the Socialist State, and the Chinese Painter Li Huasheng (1993) and his artistic practice since Silbergeld's ground-breaking study is the subject of the forthcoming monograph, Li Huasheng: Process, Mind and Landscape, edited by Britta Erickson and distributed internationally by D.A.P. Li Huasheng is also the subject of the documentary film "Li Huasheng's Ambivalence," in the series The Enduring Passion of Ink, directed by Britta Erickson and filmed by Richard Widmer.