徐冰被广泛认为是当今语言学和符号学方面最重要的观念艺术家之一。曾因其“对社会,尤其在版画和书法领域中作出重要贡献的能力”获得美国麦克·阿瑟天才奖。 

 

徐冰于1955年生于中国重庆,并在北京长大,后进入中央美术学院学习版画艺术。在他的版画学习阶段,文革、禅宗、以及他对意义与文字、书写和阅读之间关系的浓厚兴趣对他接下来的创作生涯有着深远的影响。他对汉字和英文字母进行了再创造,将无意义的中文和英文转化成为清晰可变的汉字,巧妙地挑战了人们对于这两种不同文字的理解。

 

徐冰最为人熟知的作品之一,《天书》(1987-1991),让他在20世纪80年代获得了国际上的认可。这件巨大的装置作品由数以百计的书册和卷轴组合而成。卷轴上印有四千个假的汉字,而这些汉字都是由手工切割成的木版印刷块印制而成。谈到他的艺术实践,徐冰解释说,他的作品“都具有一条共同的线索:它们都试图在人们习惯性的思维方式——也就是我所说的内心的‘认知结构’——里构建出某种障碍。”

 

徐冰曾在纽约现代艺术博物馆、纽约大都会艺术博物馆、伦敦大英博物馆等重要艺术机构举办个人艺术展。此外,其作品曾展出于第45届和第51届威尼斯双年展、悉尼双年展和约翰内斯堡双年展等国际展览。

 

 

获奖信息

 

美国SGC版画终身成就奖

国际艺术评论家协会奖“新英格兰博物馆艺术最佳装置或单件作品”

艺术院校联盟“青年友人奖”

首届“Artes Mundi国际当代艺术奖”

美国柏林可口可乐研究院奖金

福冈亚洲文化奖

麦克·阿瑟天才奖

波洛克·克拉斯纳基金会奖金

佩斯艺术中心基金会驻地艺术家

Xu Bing is widely recognized as one of the leading conceptual artists of language and semiotics working today. A recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship, he is celebrated for his “capacity to contribute importantly to society, particularly in printmaking and calligraphy.”

 

Born in Chongqing, China in 1955, Xu grew up in Beijing where he studied printmaking at the Central Academy of Fine Arts. Trained as a printmaker, Xu is informed by the Cultural Revolution, Chan Buddhism, and his keen interest in the relationship between meaning and words, writing, and reading. He has famously re-invented Chinese characters and the English alphabet, rendering Chinese nonsensical and English into legible Chinese characters, effectively challenging comprehension of both.

 

One of his best-known works, Book from the Sky (1987–1991), earned Xu international recognition in the 1980s. The work is a massive installation of hundreds of volumes and scrolls printed with 4,000 imagined Chinese characters, which were cut by hand into wood printing blocks. Describing his art practice, Xu explains that his works “are all linked by a common thread, which is to construct some kind of obstacle to people’s habitual ways of thinking—what I call the ‘cognitive structures’ of the mind.”

 

Solo exhibitions of his work have been held at The Museum of Modern Art in New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, and the British Museum in London, among other major institutions. In addition, Xu Bing has shown at the 45th and 51st Venice Biennales; the Biennale of Sydney and the Johannesburg Biennale amongst other international exhibitions.

 

Grants and Prizes

 

Southern Graphics Council Lifetime Achievement Award

International Association of Art Critics Award for “Best Installation or Single Work of Art in a Museum, New England”

The Youth Friends Award, NYC

Artes Mundi Prize

American Academy in Berlin Coca-Cola Fellowship

Fukuoka Asian Culture Prize

MacArthur Award

Pollock-Krasner Foundation Prize

ArtPace Foundation Resident Artist