过程 · 心神 · 山水: 李华生

2014年11月29日 - 2015年01月31日

墨斋画廊有幸将举办李华生先生的重要个展"过程·心神·山水",这是他第一次将自己各阶段的作品——从1998年尝试突破传统绘画到现在的纯抽象绘画——搬出工作室,系统地展现在公众面前。本次展览经过一年半的筹备,展出作品既有半抽象的写意山水,也有最代表画家风格的"线格"作品,其中包括一件巨幅五连屏《0699》(每屏长365厘米,宽148厘米),此外还有画家融合了"线格"和写意笔触的最新力作。

 

李华生很早就以山水画闻名中外,其卓越的才华和推层出新的精神更是为时人所称赞。1998年,他开始走上转型之路。他重新思索艺术以及创造过程的意义和目的,以"线格"这一全新的方式来表现他的思考,用横线和竖线均等交叉而成的线格来营造冥想的空间。十多年来,李华生一直专注于"线格"的创作。此类创作要求限制线条的表现性,这是对传统的一大颠覆。然而它也以最微妙的方式体现出艺术家的精神和"气"。每一根线条都在心神高度集中的状态中完成,只有几十年执毛笔训练的水墨画家才能做到,线条上任何微小的波动都体现出"气"的凝聚消散,而这"气"又与艺术家的体力、心境、注意力以及健康状况息息相关。

 

从2000年"线格"作品在上海双年展上赢得国际关注以来,李华生的这一系列作品几乎成了各类当代水墨展览,尤其是抽象水墨展览中的必展品。然而,除了2003年的重要展览"念珠与笔触"外,其它展览中的"线格"作品数量不多,流通量也很小,往往是同一件作品在不同的展览上重复出现。因此,李华生"线格"系列的丰富性和多样性还不曾真正向世人展露。李华生对外展示的半抽象山水作品也非常少,足见艺术家之惜画如金,每幅作品都记录了艺术家醍醐灌顶的独有瞬间。而他融合了"线格"和写意笔触的新作,则是首次对外展出,它们是艺术家数年思考和实验的最新成果。

 

墨斋画廊将特别为本次展览搭建一个禅室,观众可以在禅房内面对三幅格子画静坐,体验由作品所带来的无限的冥想空间。

PROCESS, MIND, AND LANDSCAPE: LI HUASHENG

29 November 2014 - 31 January 2015

Ink Studio is pleased to present a major exhibition of works by acclaimed painter Li Huasheng, Li Huasheng: Process, Mind, and Landscape. For the first time ever outside the artist's studio it will be possible to view the full range of Li Huasheng's production as a painter since his 1998 break with tradition. Over a year and a half in the making, Process, Mind, and Landscape brings together twenty works ranging from semi-abstract xieyi landscapes, to the most monumental set of his now iconic grid paintings — 0699 (five panels each 365 x 148 cm) — to a surprising, never-before-exhibited new series that unites the grids with the artist's bravado xieyi brushwork.

 

In 1998 Li Huasheng turned aside from an established career as a highly talented and innovative landscape painter celebrated both in China and overseas. Reinventing himself as an artist, he contemplated the meaning and purpose of both art and of the creative process. The new approach at which he arrived consists of reflecting on a meditative space via the disciplined rendering of grids — even horizontal lines of ink layered over even vertical lines. This practice has occupied him for over a decade. While it is true that the grid paintings subvert tradition by suppressing the expressive quality of the line, they reveal the artist's spirit or qi in a most subtle manner. Holding the brush as only a painter trained through decades of practice is able, Li Huasheng deploys each line in a state of meditative concentration, so that any minor fluctuations are directly attributable to fluctuations in qi, which connects to stamina, mood, attention, and general health.

 

Since the year 2000, when they drew international notice at the Shanghai Biennale, Li Huasheng's grid paintings have been almost essential for any major exhibition of Chinese contemporary ink painting, particularly abstract ink painting. Despite constituting prominent elements of such pivotal exhibitions as Prayer Beads and Brush Strokes (2003), few grids have been exhibited: a small number of paintings has been circulating, appearing repeatedly in different exhibitions. Thus, the rich variations developed within this long-standing series have not previously been revealed. Even fewer of the brilliant semi-abstract landscapes have appeared publicly, because the artist cherishes each one as representing a particular, unique moment of inspiration. Finally, the new series — featuring grids combined with free brushwork — is only now ready for exhibition, following a gestation period of several years of thinking and then experimentation by the artist.

 

As a special element of the exhibition, Ink Studio will construct a meditation room where visitors can sit quietly in the presence of three grid paintings to experience their expansive presence.