影窟

2017年11月18日 - 2018年01月19日

下载媒体包

 

纸上所绘之石如肉身溢血,颤抖的线条记录冥想中的心理起伏,圣像的光晕发散自朝圣者的瞬速手迹。《影窟》引领观者在感知体验中,探索物质世界的灵性和神性 。八位参展艺术家都着意唤起身体在时间和空间中的存在感,复原图象被现代审美所压抑的更多维度。艺术品在此被重新仪式化,成为救赎和觉醒的媒介、自觉的戏剧性幻想、经验愉悦和伤痛的躯体、渴望与虔诚奉献的对象。

 

本次展览被布置成了一系列神龛状的密围,灵感来自原始人类创造和观看图像的洞窟。洞窟为庞然巨物,却又虚无飘渺,既启发内观和自省,又是一个梦境般的神思游走之所,一扇超越此间世界的门。作为佛像的原型,释加牟尼曾把自身投入悬崖上石窟之中,留下“佛影”。“佛在石內映现於外”,远看明亮如镜,近观则消失于岩壁。本展作品运用了拓印、壁画、音景、光线和视角转换等方式,体现了洞窟在物质、感官与概念层面的暧昧性。

 

熊辉(1988年生于香港)在父亲所绘的山石上重复仪式性的点墨动作,同时施行和消解了父权的暴力。李津(1958年生于天津)重绘了敦煌壁画里中佛陀前生慈悲舍身的故事,通过对原作风蚀表面的忠实重现,将虔诚的精神表达到了极致。洪强(1970年生于昆明)作为画家中的礼佛者,以墨和手指捕捉自己与佛像之间稍纵即逝的邂逅。秋麦(1969年生于纽约)的沉浸式摄影装置作品重现荒废的佛像洞窟,将其不灭的灵光转存到胶片和宣纸的质感上。

 

马文(1973年生于北京)的墨池装置里,光与玻璃在镜面倒影中交汇为山水景观,又反复离析。吴少英(1966年生于澳门)的视频以液体的流动编排一场光影戏剧,引人想象其中不可名状的角色和叙事。黄致阳(1965年生于台北)和他收藏的古代玉石进行萨满式的沟通,并将其背后的神秘力量凝聚于绘画和雕塑创作。李华生(1944年生于四川宜宾)受到西藏地理与宗教环境的启发,创作巨幅手绘线格作品,把观者置于抽离与沉浸、渺小与无限之间的微妙境界。

 

本展览将记录艺术家创作过程的影像记录、文献与作品一同展出,提出“佛影窟”典故中关于媒介和图像本质的核心问题:图象的力量究竟源自再现的对象、物质的构成、时空与仪式语境、还是作者和观者的虔诚?它会否恰恰是其间一种不断的徘徊和纠缠?

 

《影窟》由杨浚承策展,展期由2017年11月18日至2018年1月19日。

Luminous Shadows

18 November 2017 - 19 January 2018

Download the media packet

 

A painted rock bleeds as living flesh across sheets of paper. A quivering line gives form to the nuances of meditative experience. The veiled light of an icon radiates through the near-instantaneous marks by a pilgrim’s hand. The group exhibition Luminous Shadows explores spirituality and transcendence in the sensory engagement with the material world. Each of the eight participating artists calls attention to the embodied experience of space and time, recuperating dimensions of art repressed by a modern aesthetics of detached contemplation. The work of art is here ritualized anew as a vehicle for salvation and awakening, a self-conscious theatrical illusion, a sensuous body of pleasure and pain, and an object of pious devotion and yearning.

 

Organized as a series of shrine-like enclosures, Luminous Shadows is inspired by the cave as a primordial site of image-making and beholding. At once concrete and ethereal, the cave both heightens interiority and encourages dream-like wanderings into worlds beyond. It is an archetypal space of the Buddhist icon: Shakyamuni once miraculously imprinted his own “shadow image” in a cliff-side grotto. Radiant and reflective like a mirror from afar, this image would disappear into the blank rocky surface upon approach. Encompassing rubbing, wall painting, soundscape, and manipulations of perspective and light, the works in Luminous Shadows draw on the physical, sensorial, and conceptual ambiguities of the cave.

 

Hung Fai (b. 1989, Hong Kong) ritually enacts and dissolves the violence of patriarchal authority in his laborious stippling of a rock painted by his father. Li Jin (b. 1958, Tianjin) reproduces a Dunhuang mural depicting compassionate self-sacrifice, expressing his own piety through utmost faithfulness to its weathered surface and faded pigments. The pilgrim-painter Hung Keung (b. 1970, Kunming) captures his fleeting encounters with enshrined icons with ink-stained fingers. Here presented as an immersive installation, Michael Cherney’s (b. 1969, New York) photographs reconstruct auratic ruins of Buddhist grottos through the material artifacts of film and xuan paper.

 

In Jennifer Wen Ma’s (b. 1973, Beijing) installation, light and glass repeatedly coalesce into an illusionary landscape before dissolving in a reflective ink pool. Cindy Ng’s (b. 1966, Macau) video presents a theater of liquid traces, inviting and frustrating the desire for narrative and character. A shamanistic connoisseur of archaic stone and jade artifacts, Huang Zhiyang (b. 1965, Taipei) channels in painting and sculpture their mystical energies. Inspired by the landscape and religiosity of Tibet, Li Huasheng’s (b. 1944, Yibin, Sichuan) vast hand-drawn grids and lines oscillate between surface and depth, the infinite and the infinitesimal.

 

Accompanied by video and material documentation of the artists’ processes, Luminous Shadows presses on the question of agency and medium at the heart of the Shadow Cave lore. Does the power of images derive from the object of representation, material constitution, spatial and ritual contexts, or the devotion of the maker or beholder? Or is it precisely the indeterminate oscillation between them?

 

Luminous Shadows is curated by Alan Yeung and on view from November 18, 2017 through January 19, 2018.