水墨与心灵: 《水墨:现象与阐释》系列展之二

2016年03月19日 - 05月12日

2016年3月19日,群展《水墨与心灵》将在墨斋画廊开幕 。此次展览由林似竹和箫岭策展,是“水墨与现象学”系列展览的第二场,旨在从感官经验的角度,探索水墨媒介与理性、情感、知觉、记忆、道德、欲望、想象之间的密切联系。《水墨与心灵》 探索水墨媒介与理性、情感、知觉、记忆、道德、欲望、想象之间的密切联系。与现代西方启蒙哲学的身心二元论相对,中国文化和哲学传统中,“心”是一个与身体合一的概念,既指生理器官也指认知和情感,这点在水墨文化及美学中更得到了充分的体现。

 

李华生和杨诘苍自青年时期起便受过严格的水墨传统训练,他们将绘画与修行结合为一体。李华生上世纪八十年代后期已成为山水画家中的佼佼者, 然而当他接触到西方当代艺术之后,便决心放弃以往的风格,并开始隐士般的生活。经过数年的积累,李华生发展出一种近乎禅修的创作方式——手绘线格。一根根以柔软的毛笔绘就的线条记录了身心细微的变化和生命在时间中缓缓展开的过程。杨诘苍的作品《千层墨》最早亮相于法国蓬皮杜当代艺术中心“大地魔术师”展览。在这一系列作品中,杨诘苍在长达数周的时间里,不断将墨一层层地涂于纸上,黑色的表面最终形成了一种令人惊艳的光泽和雕塑感,契合道家“物极必反”和禅宗“行住坐卧皆是禅”的思想。

 

邱世华的作品从心理和哲学的层面展现了感知的复杂性。他用的是油彩,却像一个水墨画家一样专心于液体的流动及痕迹。他画中的形象似有还无,色调的变化微弱得让人难以察觉。那些云里雾里的山水,将人从风景引入心境,从观看转为内观。观者在不断的寻找中,或许可以一窥艺术家对道家“无为”思想的体悟。基于东方文化所特有的“生成论”,刘丹仅用石头作为一个个繁殖力极强的“干细胞”,来构建一种完全个性化的山水。他摒弃传统水墨画的笔墨语言,却恰恰实现了古代文人精神和价值观的时空转换。冰逸同样赋予文人传统一种当代阐释。她的艺术实践不止绘画,还包括特定场地的装置、表演、文学、音乐以及电影。这与诗、书、画“三绝”一样,皆是艺术家发自内心的诗意表达。《百妖图》透过极富耐力而坚韧的笔触描绘有机生命的微观起源,表现了大自然缔造生命的爱的力量。

 

梦、欲望、潜意识,是蔡锦、陈海燕、黄致阳画中的主题。蔡锦在一次归乡途中偶遇几株几近干枯的“美人蕉”,之后的二十余年中,她一直围绕这个题材作画,用浓艳热烈的画风来描绘美人蕉的局部,让繁衍和色情的欲望、死亡和腐朽的颤栗相互生发。陈海燕运用社会写实主义的政治宣传版画,将水墨大写意融入其中,创造出一种全新的世俗化抒情语言。在这些梦境的描绘中,个体和集体、意识和潜意识若即若离。黄致阳的《密视》系列通过色彩以及背后的精神寓意,探索感官和情绪的世界。画中层层叠加的颜色相互缠绕,并偶尔浮现生物般的图像,恰如“色界”的一切引诱和刺激,与我们的心灵纠结交织。

Ink and the Mind: Ink and phenomenology. Exhibition No.2

19 March - 12 May 2016

Opening at INK studio on March 19, 2016, the group exhibition Ink and the Mind explores the myriad connections between ink painting and cognition, emotion, perception, memory, identity, moral judgment, desire, and imagination. The traditional Chinese understanding of the mind resists the Cartesian mind-body dualism that has defined much of modern Western thought and life; as is often noted, the character xin denotes both the physical organ of the heart and cognitive and affective functions. This non-dualistic conception of the mind is commensurate with the material specificities of the ink medium and with its intellectual and aesthetic values. Each deeply engaged with ink, the artists in this exhibition illuminate its relationship to the mind in powerful and diverse ways. Curated by Britta Erickson and Nataline Colonnello, this exhibition follows Ink and the Body of fall 2014 in the Ink and Phenomenology exhibition series, which explores ink painting in terms of its relationship with both the artist and the viewer.

 

Li Huasheng and Yang Jiechang approach the ink medium as a form of mental discipline and cultivation. After a tour in the United States as one of China’s foremost traditional landscapists in the late 1980’s, Li Huasheng turned away from representational painting and, over the next decade, developed the radical practice of hand-limning vast grids in a state of deep meditation. Applied with a pliant brush, these lines record with utmost sensitivity the momentary changes in his physical and mental being, becoming a metonym of the unfolding of life in time. In the Hundred Layers of Ink series, which debuted in the landmark exhibition Magiciens de la Terre (1989) at the Centre Pompidou, Yang Jiechang combines ink with durational performance, superimposing layers of ink on the same pieces of paper over weeks. The resultant black surfaces gain a surprising luminescence and sculptural presence, reflecting a Daoism-informed aesthetics of change and the Chan Buddhist notion of awakening through the mindful repetition of mundane actions.

 

The paintings of Qiu Shihua unfold the psychological and philosophical complexities of perception. Working in oil but with an ink painter’s sensitivity towards liquid diffusion and surface textures, he creates immersive fields of barely perceptible tonal nuances that invite and resist the recognition of forms, alternating between landscapes and mindscapes and turning observation into introspection. In the poetics of losing and finding oneself anew, the viewer experiences something of the artist’s life-long engagement with the Daoist philosophy of non-action. Despite its appeals to photorealism and close observation, Liu Dan’s rendition of rockery is abstracted from reality and more fundamentally an embodied resonance with the deep structure of the universe. He generates entire landscapes using rocks as “stem-cells,” bypassing the codified brushwork of the literati tradition while maintaining its core understanding of the self as essentially expressive and performative: that one defines one’s identity in continual dialog with history. Bingyi, too, offers a contemporary reinterpretation of literati ideals. Encompassing not only painting but also site-specific installation, performance, literary and musical composition, and filmmaking, her practice is unified as a poetic self-expressionism as in the literati’s Three Perfections. Rendered in hypnotic, near-microscopic brushwork, her Fairies—a vast catalog of imaginary life—give form and definition to her unbounded emotional energies.

 

Dreams, desire, and the unconscious take center stage in the works of Cai Jin, Chen Haiyan, and Huang Zhiyang. For two decades Cai Jin has memorialized a dying subtropical plant—known in Chinese by the sensuous name of “beauty plantain”—that she chanced upon and photographed during a visit to her hometown. Typically rendered in extreme magnification and in bright monochromatic colors, these paintings are both visceral and denatured, simultaneously evoking fertility and eroticism, death and decay. Chen Haiyan transforms the propagandistic medium of the socialist-realist woodblock print into a new vernacular language of self-expression by incorporating daxieyi ink painting. By visualizing and disseminating her dreams, she invites the viewer’s identification and reflection on the complex of conscious and unconscious, inner and collective lives in contemporary China. Huang Zhiyang’s Dreamscapes series explores different psychic and emotional states through color and the color symbolism of Buddhist spiritual and artistic traditions. Inextricably interwoven and constantly flirting with biomorphic imagery, the layers of pigments mirror our networked and embodied our consciousness and suggest its susceptibility to sensual temptation, denoted none other than se, the word for color.