王道至柔: 何云昌

2015年10月17日 - 2016年02月6日
墨斋画廊荣幸地呈献艺术家何云昌(1967年生于云南梁河)的个人展览“王道至柔”,包括三段式行为作品《心殿》及过往作品精选展览。具有深厚油画专业功底的何云昌,于90年代初期转而专注行为艺术领域的探索,并成为行为艺术最具挑战精神的践行者。他以自己的肉身作为艺术表达的材质和媒介,以鲜活、可感、具象的方式来体现所处时代与环境下变幻、迷离、闪烁的切片和抽象的哲学观念。因此,他一向强调以“现场艺术”(Live Art)而非“表演艺术”来推进行为艺术的实践。其作品往往以超凡的承载挑战生理和心理的强度负荷,极具感官震撼力的同时,又弥漫着沁人心脾的诗意。
 
 
最新行为作品《心殿》标志着何云昌艺术探究的一次重要转折,折射出其艺术造诣及个人心境在逆流不屈、翻越巅峰后,延展开的更为开阔、宁静、平和的境界;三段式的叙事结构仿佛更暗示了生命、自然、社会的生成、延伸与展望。作品运用了墨、水和纸等水墨传统材料,并从内容和形式上都体现了艺术家对虚实、刚柔、动静、清浊、今昔等理念的自我感悟和呈现。
 
 
此次展览由墨斋画廊总监箫岭(Nataline Colonnello)策展,旨在全面梳理和推介何云昌的经典作品。包括《与水对话》(1999),其中他以倒吊方式企图将河水分为两半,左右臂开一厘米深刀口,血顺手臂流入水中,历时90分钟;在《石头大不列颠漫游记》(2006-2007)中,他在英国东海岸随意捡起一块石头,拿着它围绕大不列颠岛绕行一圈,并最终将石头放回原处,历时112天,行程约3500公里;在《一根肋骨》(2008)中,他以手术方式取出了对人体至关重要的第八根肋骨,之后将其制成项链给生命中最重要的五位女性佩戴并分别合影;在《视力测验》(2003)中,他近距离注视256只灯泡发出的一万瓦灯光60分钟。
 
 
何云昌出生和成长于云南西部与缅甸的交界处,1991年毕业于云南艺术学院油画系。其个人艺术展曾举办于比利时国家美术馆(2013)和印度尼西亚国家美术馆(2008)等重要场馆,并曾在横滨三年展(2014)、第55届威尼斯双年展中国馆(2013)、第十届福冈亚洲艺术三年展(2009)、纽约国际行为艺术双年展(2007)、沙迦双年展(2003)和釜山双年展(2002)、格罗宁根美术馆、光州美术馆、首尔市立美术馆和中国美术馆等举办群展。他曾获得澳门“以身观身”国际艺术交流奖(2006)及颜文梁艺术奖(2011)等奖项。其作品被中国美术馆、日本福冈美术馆、澳洲昆士兰美术馆、法国蓬皮杜当代艺术馆、澳洲白兔美术馆、澳门现代艺术博物馆、乌里·希克和靳宏伟等世界各大机构和收藏家收藏。
 
 
现场行为时间安排:
 
 
《宁静致远》
2015年10月17日(周六), 16:30-20:00
 
 
《镜心云影》
2015年10月24日(周六), 16:30-18:30
 
 
《怀风抱露》 
2015年10月31日(周六), 16:30-20:00

WATER FORMING STONE: HE YUNCHANG

17 October 2015 - 6 February 2016

INK studio is pleased to present He Yunchang's solo exhibition Water Forming Stone, which includes a brand-new series of three performances and a selection of his past works. Trained as an oil painter, He Yunchang (b. 1967 in Lianghe, Yunnan) turned towards performance art in the early 1990's and has become one of its most committed and challenging practitioners. By treating his own body as both medium and object, he turns abstract philosophical concepts and the amorphous transformations of our times into experiences that are concretely comprehensible and lived. Indeed, he refers to his practice in Chinese as xianchang yishu or "live art" in distinction to the sense of "performance" as acting. Testing the extremes of psychological and physical endurance, his works achieve a poetic and cathartic intimacy that reverberates through and beyond their visceral impact. 

 

Water Forming Stone marks a critical transition in He Yunchang's career: in his own words, an expansive opening after summiting a peak and a tranquility after a mortal confrontation. Unfolding as a narrative, the tripartite performance series also evokes the formation and evolution of life, nature, and society. It engages ink, water, and paperthe essential elements of the classical ink traditionas well as the artist’s own interpretations of the philosophical dialectics between solid and void, yielding and unyielding, active and inactive, pure and impure, past and present.

 

Curated by Nataline Colonnello, INK studio Gallery Director, the exhibition surveys documentation and material artifacts of He Yunchang's past works, including Dialogue with Water (1999), in which he attempted over 90 minutes to cut a river into two halves with a knife while hanging upside-down from a crane; The Rock Tours Around Great Britain (2006-2007), in which he carried a rock from the northeastern coast of England and returned it there after walking 3,500 kilometers counterclockwise along the perimeter of Britain; One Rib (2008), in which he had his eighth rib—one of the longest and most vitalsurgically removed and made into a necklace, and then posed for photographs with the five most important women in his life wearing it; and Eyesight Test (2003), in which he stared at close distance at 10,000 watts of light for an hour.

 

Born and raised in western Yunnan near the Myanmar border, He Yunchang graduated from the oil painting department of the Yunnan Arts University in 1991. He has held solo exhibitions at such major venues as the National Gallery of Belgium (2013) and Indonesia National Museum (2008). He has participated in group exhibitions at the Yokohama Triennale (2014); China Pavilion, the 55th Venice Biennale (2013); Fukuoka Triennale (2009); Performa (2007); Sharjah International Art Biennial (2003); and Busan Biennale (2002); as well as Groninger Museum, Gwanju Museum of Art, Seoul Museum of Art, and National Museum of China, among many others. He is the recipient of International Exchange Award of the Macao Museum of Art (2006) and the First Yan Wenliang Art Award (2011). His works may be found in the collections, among others, of the National Art Museum of China, Beijing, China; Fukuoka Asian Art Museum, Fukuoka, Japan; Queensland Art Gallery, Brisbane, Australia; Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris, France; White Rabbit Gallery, Sydney, Australia; Macao Museum of Art, Macao, China; and in the private collections of Uli Sigg and Jin Hongwei.

 

Performance Schedule

 

The Expanse of Tranquility

October 17, 2015 (Sat), 16:30-20:00

 

Cloud Shadows at the Heart of the Mirror

October 24, 2015 (Sat), 16:30-18:30

 

The Embrace of Wind and Dew

October 31, 2015 (Sat), 16:30-20:00