层层天墙: 郑重宾

2015年05月30日 - 09月23日

下载媒体包

 

纵观郑重宾(1961年生于上海)三十年的艺术生涯,他通融中国传统水墨和西方抽象绘画,并系统地分析两者的基本因素:形象、质感、空间、动势、材料和几何形态。他的作品以墨、丙烯、宣纸和光的相互作用来体现自然中熵的增减以及分形结构,使观者直接感受物质的生命力。郑重宾的作品因此而具有本体论和现象学上的涵义——既是世界中的物质实体,也在人们的感官经验中存在。“层层天墙”于墨斋画廊三层展厅展示郑重宾的最新画作。

 
在全心投入绘画创作的同时,郑重宾也将他的概念探究延伸至时间和空间的维度。主展厅的装置作品《层层天墙》以多重折叠的方式装裱巨幅水墨作品,并将其嵌于倾斜的天花板与墙面之间,营造非平行的线和面之间微妙的张力。当惯常的视觉参照体系不复存在时,观众须遵循不同的轨迹观察作品表面,从而重构空间,恰似中国传统山水画中的“三远”。《层层天墙》既不是绘画,不是雕塑,又不是纯粹的光线与空间,作品与环境化为一个有机整体的同时,却又坚持自身的物质存在。

 

郑重宾还为墨斋画廊重新设计了同时于威尼斯欧洲文化中心展出的环境录像装置《运行中的异化之景》。此作透过各种结构相同的宏观和微观影像,包括静止和湍急的水的拓朴变化、血细胞和液体分子的对流、墨和水在纸上的晕染、河流在大地上的扩散,配合经过速度调整的音效,展现自然中熵的变化和秩序的产生过程。声音和图象之间彼此转换,涌现于寂静或消失于空白,使时间本身变得富有质感和生命力。如同郑重宾的绘画作品暗示透视的同时又消解了透视,此作将观众流放于世界的无尽变幻之中,却给予这种流动性一种可感知的形式。

 

郑重宾的作品曾在威尼斯欧洲文化中心(2015)、戴姆勒柏林当代艺术馆(2015)、北京微软中心(2014)、上海喜马拉雅美术馆(2014)、北京墨斋画廊(2013)、浙江美术馆(2013)、纽约佳士得(2013)、香港艺术中心(2012)、艾伯塔大学美术馆(2012)、伦敦萨奇画廊(2012)、上海沪申画廊(2011)、旧金山亚洲艺术博物馆(2010)、上海多伦现代美术馆(2009)、美国亚太博物館(2009)、釜山市立美术馆(2008)、中国国家画院(2008)、第三届成都双年展(2007)展出。

WALL OF SKIES: ZHENG CHONGBIN

30 May - 23 September 2015

Download the media package.

 

Throughout his career of three decades, Zheng Chongbin (b. 1961, Shanghai) has held the classical Chinese ink tradition and Western pictorial abstraction in productive mutual tension. Systematically exploring and deconstructing their conventions and constituents—figure, texture, space, geometry, gesture, materiality—he has developed a distinctive body of work that makes the vitality of matter directly perceptible, not picturing but instantiating nature’s entropic processes and fractal structures in the interactions of ink, acrylic, paper, and light. In him painting is both ontology and phenomenology, at once immanent in the world and realized in perception. In Wall of Skies, Ink Studio showcases Zheng Chongbin's latest paintings in its third-floor gallery.

 

Maintaining his commitment to painting, Zheng Chongbin now extends his conceptual explorations into the dimensions of space and time. He transforms Ink Studio's main gallery into the eponyomous light-and-space installation Wall of Skies. He mounts a monumental work of ink on paper on a complex folded structure fully enclosed by a tilted ceiling and slanted walls, creating a delicate interplay of nonparallel lines and planes. Freed from architectural and perspectival positioning, the viewer continually recreates the space by navigating the installation’s surfaces, recalling the sanyuan or "three distances" of classical Chinese landscape paintings. Resolving neither into painting, nor sculpture, nor pure light and space, Wall of Skies insists on its material presence even as its objecthood is dissolved in a spatial experience.

 

The entrance gallery features a new rendition of Chimeric Landscape, an environmental video installation concurrently on view at the European Cultural Centre in Venice. It presents entropic processes and emergent order in a stream of homologous microscopic and macroscopic imagery. An accompanying soundscape similarly dilates or contracts natural processes to the scale of human perception. As images and sounds morph into each other, as they arise from and dissipate into silence and blankness, time itself becomes unsettled, textured, and vital. Just as the paintings and installations both suggest and resist perspective, Chimeric Landscape releases the viewer into the infinite flux of the world only to make it perceptible as form.

 

Zheng Chongbin has previously exhibited at the European Cultural Centre, Venice (2015), Daimler Contemporary Berlin (2015), the Microsoft Innovation Center, Beijing (2014), the Shanghai Himalayas Art Museum (2014), Ink Studio, Beijing (2013), Christie’s New York (2013), Zhejiang Art Museum (2013), the Hong Kong Art Center (2012), Saatchi Gallery (2012), Shanghai Gallery of Art (2011), the Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (2010), Shanghai Duolun Museum of Modern Art (2009), the Pacific Asia Museum (2009), Busan Museum of Modern Art (2008), China National Academy of Painting (2008), and the Third Chengdu Biennial (2007).