: 冰逸

2015年03月21日 - 05月3日

冰逸1975年生于北京,是一位当代博学家。她的艺术实践涵盖了大地与环境艺术、特定场域的建筑装置、音乐与文学创作、水墨绘画及行为艺术。艺术家以传统的水墨和宣纸为材料,借力环境条件,历经数月如实记录了地形和气候的鬼斧神工,并在她的装置和表演中得以重现。冰逸选材吸收所有色光的墨,悬浮于水的碳粒视如“黑光”,照亮了格局与形式始于混沌的无形过程。

 

冰逸娟秀的扇面系列便从微观的视角探究了这一过程,并将有机生命衍生的多种生命形式编作目录。她的笔触经过每日书法训练的磨练,但并非表面上的严谨工整,而具有一种生成表现主义的品质。透过冰逸催眠式的执着与耐力,人们能感受自然本源缔造生命的爱。然而,冰逸以同样精细的手法对峙毫无人情的天灾地变,利用地震和洪水后的废墟创作出一段视觉旅程。她的绘画游走于可描述的边缘,彻底重写了水墨山水把现实创伤升华为理想化自然的千年古语。

 

展览“囙”由墨斋画廊的艺术总监林似竹博士策展,全面性回顾冰逸的艺术实践。在一楼展厅内,冰逸2013年的巨幅作品《万物》将在一个两层楼高的拟真环境中展示,其它展品还包括《发光体》系列和过去项目的视频纪录。三楼展厅将呈现艺术家首次公开的百科全书系列《百妖图》和记录2008年汶川地震灾害的绢本长卷轴《囙》。

 

冰逸曾在西班牙阿里坎特省当代艺术博物馆(2014)、德国柏林圣约翰福音大教堂(2012)、美国芝加哥大学斯马特艺术博物馆(2010)、比利时布鲁塞尔Erna Hecey画廊(2009)、中国上海对比窗艺廊(2009)以及美国纽约Max Protech画廊(2008)举办个展。她的作品被选入美国布法罗奥尔布赖特·诺克斯美术馆的“调查者”展览(2011)、中国北京今日美术馆“意派——世纪思维”展览(2009),并亮相“第七届韩国光州双年展年度报告:一年来的展览”(2008)。

INTENSIVE/EXTENSIVE: BINGYI

21 March - 3 May 2015

Bingyi (b. 1975 in Beijing) is a contemporary polymath whose art practice encompasses land and environmental art, site-specific architectural installation, musical and literary composition, ink painting, and performance art. Using the traditional medium of ink on paper, she collaborates over months with environmental conditions to create reality-scaled records of topological and climatological forces, which are in turn recuperated in installations and performances. She thus uses ink—carbon, an absolute absorber of light, suspended in water—as “dark light” to illuminate the invisible processes that enable patterns and forms to emerge from chaos.

 

In her serial paintings in the intimate fan format, Bingyi studies these processes in microscopic scale, cataloging the multifold virtual forms assumed by organismic life. Honed by a daily discipline in calligraphy, her brushwork embodies a generative expressionism that belies its apparent restraint. Through her hypnotic, obsessive endurance, one senses the loving power of nature itself as it crafts animate life from inanimate matter. Yet in the same finely-wrought manner Bingyi confronts nature at its most catastrophically indifferent to humans, creating a visual journey through the ruins of earthquake and flood. Painting on the brink of representability, she radically reworks the millennium-old language of ink landscapes that sublimated lived trauma into idealized nature.

 

Intensive/Extensive, curated by Ink Studio Artistic Director Britta Erickson, surveys the full range of Bingyi’s practice. On the first floor, her massive 2013 work Wanwu is presented in a two-floor immersive environment, alongside her Luminaries series and video documentation of her past projects. On the third floor, the exhibition continues with the debuts of her encyclopedic series Fairies and her long silk handscroll Apocalypse, which recollects her experience of the aftermath of the 2008 Sichuan earthquake.

 

Bingyi has exhibited in Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Alicante, Alicante, Spain (2014); St. Johannes-Evangelist-Kirche, Berlin, Germany (2012); Smart Museum of Art, University of Chicago, Chicago, USA (2010); Galerie Erna Hecey, Brussels, Belgium (2009); Contrasts Gallery, Shanghai, China (2009); and Max Protetch Gallery, New York, USA (2008). Her works have also been included in Surveyors, Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, USA(2011) and Yipai, the Opening of the New Wing, Today Art Museum, Beijing, China (2009), and featured at The 7th Gwangju Biennale, Annual Report: A Year in Exhibitions, Gwangju, South Korea (2008).