墨意象: 王冬龄

2013年11月9日 - 2014年01月5日
做得不够理想。但是成功的作品一定包含了我的强烈真实的感觉,因为这作品不是用手创作的,而是用心创作的。(2006)

北京墨斋 Ink Studio 画廊荣幸地宣布第三次展览开幕: 墨意象——王冬龄的抽象水墨与银盐书法。
 
因此作为现代书法家在艺术创作中,应当考虑书法艺术创作的现代化,让书法走向世界,在现代艺苑中大放异彩。(2009)

王冬龄(1945 年生于江苏如东)现为中国美术学院现代书法研究中心主任,是国内公认最杰出的当代书法家之一,与二十世纪十大书家,如林散之(1898-1989)、陆维钊(1899-1980)和沙孟海(1900-1992)一脉相承。王冬龄的艺术实践具有极强的实验性,涵盖了基于笔势墨韵的抽象画,将书法引入特定场所背景的行为艺术,亦或在相纸上捕捉浑然运笔的银盐书法。
 
我是既从事传统型书法又进行现代书法创作实验的,同时还进行一些抽象画的探索。我的体会觉得这样能相辅相成。但传统型的书法功底是至关重要的,只有在传统书法功底上真正有所崭获的人,才有可能在现代书法上有所表现与突破。同时,我又以为,具有良好书法学养的人,有可能在抽象画的创作中形成一种独特的艺术语言与风格。(2009)

王冬龄为墨斋画廊"墨意象"的开幕打造一组特别展品,将有力地呈现书法笔触与线条抽象的紧密关联。展览还包括艺术家一幅罕见的巨幅抽象水墨作品。
 
二十世纪期间,中国书法凭其立于抽象的渊源搭扣起中西方艺术相互借鉴的纽带。尽管中国艺术在上世纪深受西方文化的影响,但书法保持了文化的纯一性。非但不经欧风美雨的日濡月染,且为美国抽象表现主义的发展及二十世纪四五十年代兴起的欧洲非定形艺术运动推波助澜,并启发了大批知名艺术家,诸如美国抽象画家马克·托比(Mark Tobey)(1890-1976)、日裔美籍雕刻家野口勇(1904-1988)、美国雕塑家大卫·史密斯(David Smith)(1906-1965)、美国抽象表现主义画家弗朗兹·克林(1910-1962)、杰克森·波洛克(Jackson Pollock)(1912-1956)、罗伯特·马瑟韦尔(Robert Motherwell)(1915-1991)以及西班牙画家安东尼·塔皮埃斯(Antoni Tàpies)(1923-2012)。在过去的二十年间,西方抽象表现主义转而青睐当代中国书法实践——王冬龄的作品便是这一新近趋势最显著的例证。

王冬龄的创新尤为新时代重新阐释了历史性书法实践的两个方面——通过行为创造,并融合姿态抽象。他的巨幅书法表演向公众展现了人笔合一的逍遥境界;艺术家在笔端可及之处执管挥毫,肢体随墨痕扭动,观众可尽收眼底。王冬龄的书法抽象使书法的笔势、形态和空间突破了文字的局限得以释放,无异于超脱了词曲的纯然乐章。纵观二十世纪现代主义和极简主义的非客观绘画史,其弥漫着与书法的相关性与对姿态表现的早期借鉴。通过王冬龄对这一基本环节的本土发掘,书法对当代抽象的影响可谓返本还原。
 

抽象水墨

王冬龄的抽象水墨被称为"抽象艺术"、"书法绘画"或"书法抽象"。在这些作品中,他意识到书法与西方抽象的共通点是人类的"涂鸦"本能。然而,半世纪日复一日的笔墨训练使王冬龄的线条作品独异于西方的抽象表现画作。更重要的是,书法生于空白,一笔呵成,即兴而作,便将整体形状和空间关系表达的淋漓尽致。
 
因此,王冬龄抽象作品中的书法层面在于通过线条造型表达精神思想;"音乐家凭借声音展现心灵巨大的力量;画家以色彩、块面等形式探索精神与物质之间无穷的运动,而诗人依附于文字的能指和所指功能对世界进行着没有终结的诘问和感喟。作为一名书家,在线条的运动节奏中赋予某种模糊而又无法以予传达的精神力量。艺术是言说,而线条的言说则是一种独特的言说。"
 
对王冬龄而言,传统书法以书写训练为前提,这依靠轻松恬淡的精神状态;抽象书法则需要搜寻、探索与挖掘。书法是一种书写行为,而书法绘画是一种极具感染力的创作过程——将艺术家自由创作的行为凝结成形。

 

现代摄影银盐书法

在寻求现代形式表现书法的过程中,王冬龄广泛涉猎当代艺术实践中的不同表现手段。最新的尝试包括银盐书法或物影照片,这是美国现代主义艺术家曼·雷(Man Ray)(1890-1976)和包浩斯建构主义艺术家拉丝络莫合利·那基(László Moholy-Nagy)(1895-1946)率先提出的一种光化技术。王冬龄利用此种技术转而探索笔墨的质感。相纸上的书法负片使人联想到青铜器或碑帖的拓本。然而,王冬龄的负片创作不同于传统碑拓,则以高品质的笔触纹理,"墨"味的细微差别,背景负面的重要作用使人耳目一新。这一技术敏捷地捕捉到时而纤柔,时而奔放平衡运笔,为当代观众提供了体验书法家笔墨表现力的全新视角。
 
王冬龄的作品曾被多家机构收藏展出,其中包括:纽约大都会博物馆、古根海姆现代艺术博物馆 、大英博物馆、中国美术馆、中国军事博物馆、北京图书馆、哈佛、耶鲁、斯坦福、伯克莱大学、德国石荷州美术学院、北京大学等。
 
"墨斋"顺应了目前中国当代水墨画方兴未艾,令人振奋的发展潮流。在即将推出的展览项目中,墨斋将陆续呈现一系列重要艺术家如何在过去几十年积极探究与发展笔墨纸砚这千年古语下现代创新的无限可能性。这些艺术家的作品正吸引着国际上越来越多的评论与关注。"墨斋"的使命在于通过精心策划的展览项目向公众展示最优秀的当代水墨,配以深度的艺术评析,学者见谛,并出版英汉双文的画语录。
 
更多信息,请联系 info@inkstudio.com.cn

THE ORIGINS OF ABSTRACTION: WANG DONGLING

9 November 2013 - 5 January 2014

Installation Video

 


Works can fall short of one's ideals, but a successful work must embody my true feelings because this work is not created by my hand but by my heart. (2006)

 

The Beijing art gallery Ink Studio is delighted to announce its third exhibition: The Origins of Abstraction: Wang Dongling's Abstract Ink Painting and Photographic Calligraphy.

 

Wang Dongling 王冬龄 (b. Rudong, Jiangsu, 1945) is uniquely important as a visionary artist whose practice is eminently rooted in the traditional art of calligraphy, but who is also working towards expanding the place of calligraphic art onto a global plane. As he has stated:

 

A modern calligrapher engaged in artistic creation should consider how to modernize creation in the art of calligraphy, to bring calligraphy to the world and allow it to expand into the realm of modern art. (2009) 

 

Director of the Modern Calligraphy Study Center at the China National Academy of Fine Arts, Wang Dongling is widely regarded as one of China's greatest living calligraphers, belonging to a lineage of twentieth century masters including Lin Sanzhi 林散之 (1898-1989), Lu Weizhao 陆维钊 (1899-1980), and Sha Menghai 沙孟海 (1900-1992). His artistic practice embraces the traditional calligraphy for which he is best known, as well as highly experimental works including abstract painting based on calligraphic gesture, performance art that brings calligraphy into site-specific contexts, and camera-less photography that captures calligraphic actions on photographic paper.

 

I have been involved in both traditional calligraphy and in creative experiments in modern calligraphy, at the same time as exploring abstract painting. I feel these experiences can be complementary. Traditional calligraphy skills are crucial, and only when one has skills in traditional calligraphy can one be truly innovative and achieve expression and breakthroughs in modern calligraphy. At the same time, I also believe that a person with good training in calligraphy is able develop a unique artistic language and style in the creation of abstract art. (2009)

 

For Ink Studio's Origins of Abstraction exhibition, Wang Dongling has created a special body of work that demonstrates the power of the artist's revolutionary redirection of traditional calligraphy techniques into "modern calligraphy" and line-based abstraction. The exhibition will include a rare, extremely large abstract work by the artist, as well as a modern calligraphy series rendered in a new medium, brushwork on photographic paper.

 

During the 20th century Chinese calligraphy and its relation to abstraction established a nexus through which Chinese and Western art have been able to exchange and borrow from one another. While Chinese art of the last century was influenced deeply by Western culture, calligraphy maintained its cultural purity. Instead of receiving influence, calligraphy helped shape the development of the American Abstract Expressionist and European Art Informel movements of the 1940s and 50s, touching the thinking of such noted artists as Mark Tobey (1890-1976), Isamu Noguchi (1904-1988), David Smith (1906-1965), Franz Kline (1910-1962), Jackson Pollock (1912-1956), Robert Motherwell (1915-1991) and Antoni Tàpies (1923-2012). Over the last two decades Western Abstract Expressionism has, in turn, flavored the practice of modern Chinese calligraphy — the work of Wang Dongling being the most significant example of this latest exchange.

 

Wang Dongling's innovations notably reinterpret for a new era two aspects of historical calligraphy practice — its creation through performance and its embrace of gestural abstraction. In his performances writing monument-scale calligraphy or abstraction, he lays bare to the public the connection between brush-and-ink and the body; he exposes the work of art as shaped directly by the artist's reach, stamina, and physical movement. In his calligraphic abstractions, Wang liberates calligraphic gesture, form and space from the bounds of text, not unlike music that is pure sound free from narrative or song. The history of non-objective painting in twentieth-century Modernism and Minimalism is rife with references to calligraphy and its early embrace of gestural expression. Through Wang's nativeexploration of this fundamental link, the influence of calligraphy on contemporary abstraction comes full circle.

 


Abstract Ink Painting

Wang Dongling's abstract ink paintings have been called "abstract art," "calligraphic paintings" and "calligraphic abstractions." In these works, he acknowledges a common ground with Western abstraction in the shared human instinct for "graffiti." However, having trained himself daily for a half century in the use of the Chinese brush, the strength of Wang Dongling's line-work is unlike that of modern Western Abstract Expressionist painters. More importantly, the execution of calligraphy proceeds from empty space such that the brush in motion carves the entire form and relationship of space in one continuous improvisational expression.
 

The calligraphic aspect of Wang Dongling's abstractions thus lies in his performative embodiment of expression in the form of lines; "Musicians rely on sound to reveal the tremendous power of the mind; the painter uses colors and surfaces as forms to explore the spirit and the endless movement between the spiritual and the material, while the poet relies on text as signifiers and latent signifiers to address his unending interrogations and lamentations to the world. Calligraphers also convey something intangible through the movement and rhythm of their lines as they cannot use semantics to convey spiritual strength. Art is speech, and the speech of brushed lines is a unique type of speech."
 

For Wang Dongling, traditional calligraphy has as its premise training in writing and it relies on a spirit of relaxation and peace of mind; calligraphic abstraction, by contrast, requires searching, exploration, and excavation. While calligraphy is an act of writing, calligraphic painting is a process of effecting creation — of precipitating a form that embodies the freedom of an artist in action.


 

Modern Photographic Calligraphy

In his pursuit of modern forms for calligraphic expression, Wang Dongling experiments with the wide range of expressive means made possible by contemporary art practice. One recent innovation involves camera-less photography or photograms, a photo-chemical technique pioneered by the American modernist Man Ray (1890-1976) and Bauhaus constructivist László Moholy-Nagy (1895-1946). Through this technique Wang Dongling explores the qualities of the calligraphic brush in reverse. The calligraphy negative created by writing with the brush on photographic paper is evocative of ink rubbings made from written inscriptions on bronze vessels, carved stone stele or stone-cut reproductions of famous calligraphic models. Unlike such traditional ink rubbings, however, Wang Dongling's photo-negative process highlights the quality of brush texture, the nuance of "ink" tone and the crucial role of negative space both within the brushstroke and without. This technique deftly captures the sometimes delicate, sometimes explosive balance and energy within the form and offers the contemporary viewer a completely new way of experiencing the expressive power of the artist's brush.
 

Wang Dongling's work has been collected and exhibited by The Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, The British Museum, The National Art Museum of China, The Military Museum of China, Peking Library of China, Harvard University, Yale University, Stanford University, University of California, Berkeley, Schleswig-Holstein Art Academy and Peking University.
 

Ink Studio is responding to new developments in the media of ink painting currently emanating from China. In its upcoming exhibitions program Ink Studio will seek to demonstrate how a group of important artists have, over the past decades, been highly active in researching and developing the immense contemporary creative possibilities of the Chinese painting tradition of paper and ink. These artists' work is increasingly attracting serious international critical attention. Ink Studio's mission is to present the best of this new work to the public in a closely curated exhibition program supported by indepth critical analysis, scholarly exchange and bi-lingual publishing in Chinese and English.

 

For more information, please contact: info@inkstudio.com.cn