艺术家、学者泰祥洲标志性的天象作品颠覆了绘画成规,使观者抽离惯常的观看方式。在泰祥洲的作品中,绘画超越了客观再现或主观表达,成为朝向宇宙起源、人类存在和时空本质冥思的媒介,重新召唤人类对宇宙奥义的敬畏和遐想。

 

泰祥洲1965年出生于西夏(1038-1227)古都宁夏银川的书香世家,自幼跟随王文钧、胡公石等名家学习书法,漫步于西北壮阔的沙漠,吸收丝绸之路多元的文化遗产。其后他学习古代书画装裱修复,赴新西兰攻读数码媒体设计,并有多年从业经历,还创办《中华遗产》杂志。2000年后,他开始专注书法和绘画实践。为充实自己的理论根基,他跟随清华大学包林教授攻读博士。其论文由中华书局出版,普林斯顿大学著名艺术史家方闻教授撰写前言。内容深入分析了古典中国宇宙观中天地同构的对应关系,对山水图像的源起与演变进行了崭新的叙述。

 

泰祥洲的当代水墨创作,基于其长期对宋代巨幅山水构图和笔墨的研究及临摹。宋代(960-1279)为中国山水画和天文学的黄金时代,而泰祥洲认为自己绘画的“母语”正是宋代山水的笔墨技法。其绘画也包含对绢、纸、墨等媒材的深入研究和切身体验。泰祥洲的宋风作品洋溢着对古画的眷爱,同时亦建立一种虚拟的艺术史:假如山水画技术和成规没有改变,它会以什么样的方式去体现当代人更为宽阔的宇宙观?

 

近年来,泰祥洲从传统绘画,特别是对山石结构与云气的表现上发展出了自己独特的绘画语言,将水墨画拓展到地理学上甚至宇宙学的时空维度。他的天象作品使人遥想当代天文学、量子物理学等肉眼不可见的领域。嶙峋怪石在云气中若隐若现,穿梭重复于画面之间,或幻化为远古或末日世界的化石和骨头。作品置观众于静谧的混沌之中,没有明确的光影、重力、视点或方向,而只有想象的无限伸延。

 

泰祥洲创作的互动建筑装置《方便法门》结合古典天文学知识,模仿了宋代佛寺转轮经藏的传统卯榫结构。观者可以穿梭其中,如积功德般转绕其外,或在架上线装书中写下感想,建构共享知识的“图书馆”,通融思辨、感官、及形而上的神往。

Tai Xiangzhou 泰祥洲

Artist and scholar Tai Xiangzhou’s distinctive ink paintings of cosmic scenes subvert pictorial conventions and radically remove the viewer from mundane reality, thereby reinvesting vision with visionary potential and images with imaginative power. Painting in him becomes a medium not only of representation or expression, but also of speculation at the grandest scale, pertaining to the natures of space and time and the possibilities of invisible or even imaginary universes.

 

Tai Xiangzhou was born in 1968 to a scholarly family in Yinchuan, Ningxia, the former capital of the Tangut Xixia kingdom (1038-1227). As a youth, he studied calligraphy with the exiled master Hu Gongshi (1912-1997), roamed the vast deserts of the northwest, and absorbed the diverse cultural legacies of the Silk Road. After training in mounting and restoration and studying interactive design in New Zealand, he led successful careers in digital media and founded the cultural magazine Chinese Heritage. In the 2000’s, he devoted himself fully to his calligraphy and painting. To enrich the theoretical foundation of his practice, Tai proceeded to earn a doctorate from Tsinghua University under the philosopher Bao Lin. Published as a book by Zhonghua Bookstore with a foreword by the eminent Princeton art historian Wen Fong, Tai’s dissertation retells the history of Chinese landscape representations by delving into their origins in classical cosmology, particularly its elaborate systems of correspondence between the celestial, terrestrial, and human realms.

 

Working in the literati mode, Tai spent years copying and mastering classical compositions and brushwork. He considers as his artistic “mother tongue” the monumental landscapes of the Sony Dynasty (960-1279), a golden age for both pictorial and astral arts. Tai’s classicizing paintings are lovingly and faithfully antiquarian, infused with his intimate knowledge of the materials of silk, paper, and ink. Like historical fiction, however, they also have a speculative dimension: they ask, counterfactually, what a Song-dynasty landscape would look like if it encompassed the vastly expanded scope of contemporary human knowledge and experience.

 

In recent years, Tai has developed a distinctive practice that marshals and expands the resources of traditional painting—particularly the techniques for rendering topography and atmosphere—to encompass geological and even cosmic dimensions. His cosmoscapes evoke extraterrestrial worlds and the invisible dimensions of contemporary astrophysics. Here gnarled and perforated rocks hover weightlessly in space, simultaneously emerging from and dissolving into atmosphere. At times they resemble organic forms like fossils and bones, hinting at an archaeological past or a post-apocalyptic future. Reappearing morphologically within and across compositions, the rocks undermine any consistency in illumination, perspective, orientation, or even causality.

 

Tai has also created interactive and multimedia installations based on classical Chinese cosmology. An example is The Gateway of Expedient Means, modeled on medieval revolving repositories of Buddhist sutras and constructed in wood using traditional mortise-and-tenon joinery. Inviting the viewer to interact with it corporeally, ritualistically, or by contributing in writing to its library of shared knowledge, the installation connects heaven and earth and reconciles rational thought, empirical experience, and metaphysical wonder.

 

Tai Xiangzhou's work can be found in the collections of the Arthur M. Sackler Museum of At and Archaeology, Peking University; Art Institute of Chicago; Asian Art Museum, San Francisco; Brooklyn Museum; The Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.; Minneapolis Institute of Art; Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City; Philadelphia Museum of Art; Seattle Art Museum; and the university museums of Duke, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale.