1956年生于中国广东省佛山;现在法国巴黎和德国伊特林根生活和工作.

 

杨诘苍不仅是一位画家和书法家,也是一位全球性的社会活动者。与中国当代艺术的惯性相反,他不用西方前卫艺术的手法批判中国当代社会,反而用传统笔墨的表现力和道家的反向思维,揭示全球现状背后深层的社会和文化力量。在最初受审查的作品《屠杀》中,他表现的是专制统治下的死难者。为2003年威尼斯双年展所创作的作品《会叫的风景》系列同样延续了这一主题,表达了作者对权利、财富、暴力、恐怖的抗争,这也是他的艺术实践最关心的话题。在1989年"大地魔术师"展中展出的抽象作品《千层墨》,以及他的人物画《上升》、《十一日谈》系列作品中,杨诘苍处理了物质和精神的超越、个人的解放、普世的爱和自然等主题。杨诘苍以引人入胜的精湛技巧刻画极度非人性的荒谬与恐怖,其效果接近康德所言“崇高”中恐惧和兴奋的交织。

 

早在学生时代,就读广州美术学院的杨诘苍就秉承了"异己分子"的立场。他的毕业设计《屠杀》反应了文革带来的灾难,作品因此收到了审查。毕业之后,杨诘苍试图退出艺术界,转而参禅学道。这段经历促成他之后求简的画风。从1988年移居欧洲至今,杨诘苍仍频频往返于巴黎和海德堡。1989年,他参加了中国美术馆举办的"中国前卫艺术大展",并在巴黎蓬皮杜艺术中心参与了"大地魔术师"的展览的现场制作。之后,他曾多次在欧洲和亚洲举办展览,并入选柏林世界文化宫"中国前卫艺术巡回展"(1993)和第五十届威尼斯双年展(2003)。仅以近五年为例,杨诘苍参加的国际展览包括"里昂双年展"(里昂,2009)、"法国皮诺艺术收藏展:谁害怕艺术家"(迪纳尔博物馆,迪纳尔,2009)、"哈恩索尔——感官与当代艺术"(MSK与S.M.A.K.根特,比利时,2010)、"世界属于你"(格拉斯宫,皮诺基金会,威尼斯,2012)、"重新发电:上海双年展"(上海,2012)、"原道"(香港艺术馆,香港,2013)和"水墨艺术:过去与现在的中国当代艺术"(大都会博物馆,纽约,2013-2014)和最近的 "以退为进"(外滩美术馆,上海,2014)。

 

在2014年5月墨斋画廊举办的个展"还是山水花鸟画"中,杨诘苍结束了描绘各种动物的《十一日谈》系列作品,他以希特勒的水彩和素描为原本的创作,展现了他对道德修养的思索。

 

杨诘苍的《十一日谈》运用了唐代道教、佛教的壁画的技巧,描绘了他想象中的天堂。这个天堂是根据文艺复兴时期佛罗伦萨作家乔万尼·薄伽丘的小说《十日谈》创作的。杨诘苍在这件作品中描绘了野生动物和裸体的人类跨越物种的情爱。无论表现的是交媾、拥抱或只是旁观,很显然,杨诘苍想象中的性爱天堂不受任何限制,毫无权威和暴力。在展览"还是山水花鸟画"中,杨诘苍完成了本系列中的最后一件作品。此外,展览还包括长达十一米的八连屏《黑白芥子园》。

 

在杨诘苍最新作品《还是山水画》、《还是花鸟画》系列中,他采用了宋代宫廷画家严谨的技巧,临摹了希特勒在1914年,即25岁时的作品。在传统儒家教学中,学生从一笔一划模仿老师的作品开始学习,这样,他们不仅学习了绘画技巧,也学习了老师的道德品格。杨诘苍信奉道教,他相信只有研究邪恶才能懂得道德,通过检验丑陋才能发现美好。他将年轻的希特勒作为模仿对象,运用艺术实践来验证修养的本质和恶的源头。

 

收藏杨诘苍作品的机构包括:美国斯坦福大学坎托艺术中心、伯克利艺术博物馆、华盛顿世界银行、纽约洛克菲勒基金会、法国文化部、香港艺术馆、香港大学美术博物馆、广东美术馆、成都美术馆、深圳画院、福冈市美术馆、韩国光州当代艺术馆、汉堡工艺美术馆、温哥华梁杰华艺术基金会、瑞士Swatch收藏、法国皮诺基金会、瑞士尤伦斯基金会、台湾国巨基金会、台湾Eslite公司。

 

纪录片《杨诘苍的骨和气》,收录于林似竹导演和温成拍摄的系列片《墨咏》中。林似竹博士还将为杨诘苍编辑学术专著《杨诘苍:道可、道非》,此书将由杨天娜和箫岭撰写论文,并由D.A.P.艺术出版商发行。

 

 

艺术家网站

b. 1956 in Foshan, Guangdong Province, China; lives and works in Paris, France, and Ittlingen, Germany

 

Yang Jiechang’s artistic practice as a calligrapher-painter turned global social actor inverts the contemporary Chinese art world norm of using Western avant-garde forms to critique contemporary Chinese society. He accomplishes this by adopting the performative expressivity of the traditional brush and the paradoxical dialectics of pre-modern Daoist skeptics to expose the underlying social and cultural forces that shape our contemporary global reality. Starting with his censored Massacre series in which he confronts the human toll of politically-violent authoritarian government, and continuing with his Crying Landscape series which he created for the 2003 Venice Biennale, Yang has made the critique of power, wealth, violence and terror central concerns of his artistic practice. With his purely abstract Layers of Ink works, which he inaugurated for the seminal 1989 trans-national show Magiciens de la Terre, and his figurative Ascension and Tales of the Eleventh Day series, Yang deals with the contrasting themes of material and spiritual transcendence, liberation of the individual, universal love and nature. When Yang deploys seductively masterful technique in service of psychologically disturbing or even horrifying imagery, our experience approaches the sublime—a realization of the inhuman that is both monstrous and transcendent.

 

Already in his student days at the Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts where his graduation project Massacre (1982) on the devastation of the Cultural Revolution was censored, Yang Jiechang had adopted the position of provocateur. Following graduation he withdrew from art to study with Buddhist and Daoist masters. This led him to search for simplicity when he returned to painting. In 1988 he moved to Europe, where he has remained, living between Paris and a village near Heidelberg. In 1989 he participated in both the seminal Contemporary Chinese Artexhibition at the National Art Museum in Beijing and the equally paradigm-changing exhibition Les Magiciens de la Terre at the Centre Georges Pompidou where he created his artworks on site. Since then Yang has exhibition widely throughout Europe and Asia and was featured in both the China Avant-garde exhibition at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin (1993) and in the 50th  edition of the Venice Biennale (2003). In the past five years, Yang’s work has been included in numerous international exhibitions, including the Lyon Biennial (Lyon, 2009), Qui a peur des artistes? Une sélection d'oeuvres de la Fondation François Pinault (Musée de Dinard, Dinard, 2009), Hareng Saur: Ensor et Contemparain (MSK and S.M.A.K., Ghent, Belgium, 2010), The World Belongs to You  (Palazzo Grassi, Fondation F. Pinault, Venice, 2011), Reactivation – Shanghai Biennale (Shanghai, 2012), Yuandao (Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong, 2013) and Ink Art: Past as Present in Contemporary China (Metropolitan Museum, New York, 2013-2014, and most recently Advance through Retreat (Rockbund Art Museum, Shanghai, 2014).

 

For his solo exhibition at Ink Studio in May 2014, This Is Still Landscape Painting, Yang concludes his Tales of the Eleventh Day series in which he explores the transcendence of all categories and inaugurates his latest inquiries on moral cultivation based on the paintings and sketches by a young Adolf Hitler.

 

In his Tales of the Eleventh Day, Yang uses the techniques of Tang dynasty Daoist and Buddhist religious mural painting to depict an imagined paradise loosely based on the setting for the Decameron, a work of fourteenth century Florentine literature by Giovanni Boccaccio. In these works, Yang depicts wild animals and naked human figures in various configurations of sexual and affectionate, cross-species coupling. Whether copulating, embracing or merely observing, it becomes clear the Yang's imagined paradise of sex and love is a non-coercive one—power dynamics and violence are completely missing. For This is Still Landscape Painting, Yang completed the final works in this series including the monumental eleven-meter, eight-panel Black and White Mustard Seed Garden (2009-2014).

 

In his newest series, Yang Jiechang employs the meticulous traditional Chinese brush technique of Song Dynasty court artists to copy works that Adolf Hitler painted in 1914, at age 25. In the Confucian tradition, students learn by copying their teachers brushstroke for brushstroke. In so doing, they attempt to learn not just the painting technique, but also the moral virtues of their masters. As a Daoist, however, Yang believes that only through studying evil can you understand virtue, and by examining the ugly can you find beauty. By adopting a young Hitler as his model, Yang uses artistic practice as a means to examine the nature of moral cultivation and the origins of evil.  Works in the These are Still Landscapes and These are Still Flowers series are part of this new body of work.

 

A final dimension to Yang’s practice is his rendering of texts in response to current events in both Chinese and Roman alphabet scripts. In response to the 9/11 attack on the World Trade Center, Yang signified the shock and disbelief of the international bystander with the phrases “Oh My God” in English and “Oh Fuck” in Cantonese. Executed upside-down, Yang’s brushed lines —in both Chinese and in Roman scripts— exude a raw, expressive power based on decades of calligraphic training.

 

Among other places, Yang’s work can be found in the collections of Cantor Arts Center, Stanford University, stanford; Berkeley Art Museum, Berkeley; The World Bank, Washington; Rockefeller Foundation, New York; Ministry of Culture, France; Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong; Hong Kong University Art Museum, Hong Kong; Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou; Chengdu Museum of Art, Chengdu; Shenzhen Fine Art Institute, Shenzhen; Fukuoka Art Museum, Fukuoka; Sonje Museum of Contemporary Art, Kyongju, Korea; Museum for Arts and Crafts, Hamburg; Annie Wong Art Foundation, Vancouver; Swatch Collection, Switzerland; François Pinault Foundation, France; Ullens Foundation, Switzerland; Yageo Art Foundation, Taiwan; and Eslite Inc., Taiwan.

 

Yang is the subject of the documentary film “Yang Jiechang’s Gu and Qi,” in the series The Enduring Passion of Ink, directed and produced by Britta Erickson and filmed by Richard Widmer. Yang also is the subject of the forthcoming in-depth monograph Yang Jiechang: 道可 道非 No Way All Ways, edited by Britta Erickson and with essays by Martina Köppel-Yang and Nataline Colonello, distributed internationally by D.A.P.

 

To: Artist's website