1965年生于台湾台北。现生活和工作于北京。


黄致阳的作品既展现了传统道家、佛学和理学中整体的有机世界,又涵盖了当代现象学、神经学、进化生物学和深层生态学等"非线性"发展的新兴领域。尽管以水墨形象生态和高色域矿物颜料的抽象彩绘为人称道,黄致阳的艺术实践同样延伸至雕塑,以及用铜、石、竹等天然材料制作并聚焦生态的公共装置。不论使用何种材质,他的作品均能揭示"人类、微生物形态、植物和其它生命存在的宇宙统一性" (林似竹)。

 

黄致阳1989年毕业于家乡台湾的台北中国文化大学,主修传统中国水墨。作为助推台湾八九十年代当代艺术建构的领军艺术家,黄致阳的作品被选入台北市立美术馆当代水墨展(1988)。黄致阳曾代表台湾参加第四十六届威尼斯双年展(1995)、悉尼当代艺术博物馆画展 (1995),并在P.S.1当代艺术中心、纽约亚洲协会、旧金山当代艺术博物馆和旧金山亚洲艺术馆举办的"蜕变突破——华人新艺术展"(1998)中崭露头角。入围纽约现代艺术博物馆的展览成为黄致阳职业生涯的转折点,之后他还参与了北京中国美术馆(1999)、台北市立美术馆(1999) 及香港视觉艺术中心(2000)的多次联展。

 

黄致阳于2006年移居北京并投身于国内方兴未艾的艺术发展热潮中。先后在上海当代艺术馆(2006)、台北当代美术馆(2006)和北京当代艺术馆(2007)举办展览。黄致阳于2011年第二次参加威尼斯双年展(第五十四届),并被选入第四届广州三年展项目展(2012)。其作品同时在上海世博会(2010)、巴黎国际当代艺术博览会(2011)、迈阿密海滩巴塞尔艺术展(2011) 和法国高级时装成衣设计师协会主办的展览(2010-2011)中展出。

 

墨斋画廊近期联合中国国家博物馆举办了黄致阳同名个展"工Ÿ课"(2014)。

 

这两场展览甄选了黄致阳以巨型动植物群为母题的《北京生物》系列中两张巨幅新作。作品宽四点七五米,长达十二点六米,是黄致阳迄今尺幅最大的画作。展品还包括黄致阳《Zoon-密视》系列中的纯抽象绢本连屏——采用高色域矿物颜料和传统水墨洒绘而成,以及近似欧普艺术、追求视觉效应的《千灵显》新近系列,用以体现艺术家探寻秩序与混乱、稳定与变化之间的"德勒兹界线"。另外,黄致阳创作了两件装置作品:观众可在墨斋的影像厅内凝思单细胞、多细胞微生物世界的生命起源,或前往中国国家博物馆欣赏大型汉白玉雕刻装置《座千峰·龙脉》。

 

黄致阳的作品曾被多家机构收藏,其中包括:瑞银集团艺术基金会(UBS)、德意志银行、新加坡巴克莱银行、美国国务院使馆办公室(AIE)、台湾高雄市立美术馆收藏、台北市立美术馆、台中美术馆、广州广东美术馆及北京中国美术馆。

 

 

艺术家网站

b. 1965 in Taipei, Taiwan, lives and works in Beijing

 

Huang Zhiyang's artwork bridges the holistic and organicistic world of classical Daoism, Buddhism and neo-Confucianism with the emergent and non-linear worlds of contemporary phenomenology, neurology, evolutionary biology and deep ecology. Although best known for his biomorphic ink figures and abstract paintings using high-gamut mineral pigments, Huang's artistic practice also spans sculpture and ecologically focused public installations in bronze, stone, bamboo and other natural materials. Regardless of medium, his work reveals a common "unity of the universe-of humankind, microscopic life forms, plant life, and all other forms of presence" (Britta Erickson).

 

In his native Taiwan, Huang Zhiyang graduated in 1989 from the Taipei Chinese Cultural University with his major in traditional Chinese ink painting. He was at the forefront of several artists who, in the 1980s and 90s, helped to build the Taiwanese contemporary art scene, resulting in his being included in the contemporary ink painting exhibition held at the Taipei Fine Arts Museum (1988). Huang represented Taiwan at the 46th Venice Biennale (1995) and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney (1995) and featured prominently in the Inside/Out show at the Museum of Modern Art P.S.1 and Asia Society in New York and the Museum of Modern Art and Asian Art Museum in San Francisco (1998). Huang's inclusion in the New York MoMA show was a privotal event in his career and he subsequently exhibited at the National Art Museum of China, Beijing (1999), the National Taiwan Museum of Art (1999), the progressive Tacheles Art Center in Berlin (1999) and the Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre (2000).

 

In 2006, Huang moved to Beijing to broaden his exposure to the rapid developments in Mainland China. He held exhibitions at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Shanghai (2006), the Museum of Contemporary Art in Taipei (2006), and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Beijing (2007). Huang showed for a second time at the 54th Venice Biennale (2011) and was included in the 4th Guangzhou Triennial (2012). During this time, his work was also shown at the Shanghai World Expo (2010), at FIAC (2011), at Art Basel Miami Beach (2011) and at exhibitions organized by the Fédération Française de la Couture (2010 and 2011).

 

In conjunction with the National Museum of China where Huang's oeuvre was subject of a solo show (2014), Ink Studio recently showed Huang's latest work in the solo exhibition The Phenomenology of Life.

 

At these two shows, Huang exhibited two monumental works in his Beijing-Bio series of biomorphic mega-flora/fauna ink paintings. At 4.75 x 12.6 meters, these are the largest two-dimensional ink paintings he has created to date. Huang also exhibited the latest silk canvases from his Zoon Dreamscape series of pure abstractions in high-gamut mineral pigments and traditional ink as well as the latest series of Op Art-like Three Marks abstractions in which he explored the Deleuzian border between order and chaos, stability and change. Finally, Huang created two installations: at Ink Studio, he created a video room where viewers can contemplate the origins of life in the micro-cosmos of small single- and multi-celled organisms and, at the National Museum of China, Huang installed a massive granite sculpture entitled Dragon Vein from his Possessing Numerous Peaks series.

 

Huang's works can be found amongst others in the UBS Art Collection, Switzerland, the Deutsche Bank Collection, Germany, the Barclays Bank Art Collection, Singapore, the collection of the U.S. Department of State's Office of Art in Embassies, USA, and the collections of the Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts, Taiwan, Taipei Fine Arts Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts, Taiwan, the Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou, and the National Museum of China, Beijing.

 

To: Artist's website