2017年巴塞尔艺术展: 冰逸

2017年03月23日 - 03月25日

请于以下网站下载媒体包及高清图:http://www.inkstudio.com.cn/abhk2017

 

艺聚空间:3E16展位

2017年3月23日-25日

香港湾仔港湾道1号香港会议展览中心

 

在2017年香港巴塞尔艺术博览会的“艺聚空间”单元,墨斋画廊很荣幸能和艺术家冰逸以及布展设计师李晓光合作,把《万物》(2013)布置成一个两层楼高的拟真环境。《万物》是冰逸在中国圣山创作的大地与气候系列作品之一。“万物”意指宇宙间所有的存在,这件以传统水墨媒介在特制宣纸上挥洒而成的作品,集聚了风力、阳光、湿度、气压、地形等多种自然元素,展现了形成今日世界的不可见的地质和气象的演化。

 

墨斋“艺聚空间”展位位于3E16,作品《万物》中的两幅长22米的条幅被安装在两个面朝外的斜坡上,斜坡高8米,弯曲形,一个斜坡比另一个更陡。这件作品再现了现场环境地貌以及艺术家所理解的上升和循环,而作品表面的纹理细节则记录了现场微妙的大气变化和地形特征。作品虽然是用墨在纸上完成的,但观众观看和体验的方式和欣赏具象或抽象的绘画都不同,这件作品将给观众身临其境、和空间融为一体的真实感受。

 

这是冰逸第一次在国际艺术博览会上展出这样大尺幅的大地艺术形式的水墨作品。该类型的其它作品还在另外一些重要艺术机构展出过,如芝美国加哥大学斯马特艺术博物馆(2010)、德国柏林圣约翰福音教堂(2012)、西班牙瓦伦西亚Ciutat Vella(2014)、加拿大多伦多市政厅中心平台(2014)和中国深圳宝安国际机场(2014)。

 

冰逸是一位艺术家、建筑设计师、策展人、文化批评家和社会活动家。她的艺术实践包括土地和环境艺术、特定场域的建筑装置、音乐和文学创作,以及水墨和表演艺术。冰逸1975年出生于北京,2005年获耶鲁大学艺术史和考古学博士学位,毕业论文研究汉代艺术。她曾在西班牙阿里坎特省当代艺术博物馆(2014)、德国柏林圣约翰福音大教堂(2012)、美国芝加哥大学斯马特艺术博物馆(2010)、比利时布鲁塞尔Erna Hecey画廊(2009)、中国上海对比窗艺廊(2009)以及美国纽约Max Protetch画廊(2008)举办个展。她的作品还入选上海喜马拉雅美术馆“山水社会:民间传记”展(2016)、伊斯坦布尔现代美术馆“消耗殆尽:自然与可持续性”展(2016)、美国布法罗奥尔布赖特·诺克斯美术馆“调查者”展(2011)、中国北京今日美术馆“意派:世纪思维”展(2009),并亮相“第七届韩国光州双年展年度报告:一年来的展览”(2008)。

 

冰逸的作品已被多所国际艺术机构收藏,包括纽约布鲁克林博物馆、澳洲悉尼白兔中国当代艺术收藏、美国芝加哥大学斯马特艺术博物馆、西班牙阿里坎特省当代艺术博物馆、中国北京中国妇女儿童博物馆等。另外有三部纪录片记录冰逸的艺术。《墨咏—当代水墨画家系列:冰逸的疯狂》,由温成拍摄、林似竹博士导演,旨在诠释水墨画家冰逸的创作过程,《风的形状》、《悬置》均由温成拍摄并剪辑而成,前者讲述了冰逸的大地与气候艺术,后者记录了冰逸的深圳机场项目。

Art Basel | Hong Kong 2017: Bingyi

23 - 25 March 2017

Media packet with high-resolution images are available at http://www.inkstudio.com.cn/abhk2017

 

Encounters: Booth 3E16

March 23 - 25, 2017

Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, 1 Harbour Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China

 

For the Encounters section of Art Basel | Hong Kong 2017, INK studio is proud to work with artist Bingyi and installation designer Bricks Li to create an immersive installation of Bingyi’s monumental 2013 work Wanwu—one in a series of land and weather works created on sacred mountains throughout China. Literally “ten thousand things,” wanwu refers to all the entities and beings in the universe. Collaborating with the natural elements of wind, sun, humidity, air pressure, and terrain on site, Bingyi uses ink—carbon, an absolute absorber of light, suspended in water—on xuan paper as "dark light" to illuminate the usually invisible and transient forces of geology and climate that shape our world.

 

Located at booth 3E16, INK studio’s Encounters presentation consists of two 22-meter panels from Wanwu installed on two outward-facing slopes, with one steeper than the other. Over eight meters tall, the slopes are curved, vertical on top and flattening towards the bottom. The installation recreates the terrain encountered by the artist and her sense of ascent and circulation, while the textures and details of the panels subtly record the atmospheric effects and topographical features of the site. Although the work is ink on paper, its viewing experience is not illusionistic or representational as in a painting, but immersive, corporeal, and spatial.

 

This is the first time Bingyi’s large-scale land-art ink works are exhibited in an international art fair. Other works in the series have been exhibited at major institutional venues, including the Smart Museum of Art, the University of Chicago (2010), Chicago, U.S.A.; St. Johannes-Evangelist-Kirche, Berlin, Germany (2012); Ciutat Vella in Valencia, Spain (2014); Nuit Blanche in Toronto, Canada (2014) and Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport, Shenzhen, China (2015).

 

Bingyi is an architectural designer, writer, curator, cultural critic, and social activist whose practice encompasses land and environmental art, site-specific architectural installation, musical and literary composition, ink painting, and performance art. Born in Beijing in 1975, she graduated from Yale University with a Ph.D. in Art History and Archeology in 2005 with a dissertation on the art of the Han Dynasty. She has exhibited in Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Alicante, Alicante, Spain (2014); St. Johannes-Evangelist-Kirche, Berlin, Germany (2012); Smart Museum of Art, University of Chicago, Chicago, USA (2010); Galerie Erna Hecey, Brussels, Belgium (2009); Contrasts Gallery, Shanghai, China (2009); and Max Protetch Gallery, New York, USA (2008). Her works have been included in the group exhibitions Humanistic Nature and Society - A People's Biography, Shanghai Himalaya Museum, Shanghai, China (2016), Till It's Gone: An Exhibition on Nature and Sustainability, Istanbul Museum of Modern Art, Istanbul, Turkey (2016), Surveyors, Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, USA (2011), and Yipai, the Opening of the New Wing, Today Art Museum, Beijing, China (2009), and featured in the 7th Gwangju Biennale, Annual Report: A Year in Exhibitions, Gwangju, South Korea (2008).

 

Bingyi's works can be found in the Brooklyn Museum, New York, USA; White Rabbit Contemporary Chinese Art Collection Sydney, Australia; and the collections, among others, of, the Smart Museum of Art, University of Chicago, Chicago, USA; Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Alicante, Alicante, Spain; and Museum of Chinese Women and Children, Beijing, China. She is the subject of three documentaries: The Enduring Passion for Ink—A Series on Contemporary Ink Painters: Bingyi's Madness, on Bingyi's process as an ink painter, filmed by Richard Widmer and directed by Britta Erickson; Shape of the Wind, on Bingyi's land and weather art, and Epoché, on Bingyi's Shenzhen airport performance and event, both filmed and edited by Richard Widmer.