2016年香港水墨艺博: 冰逸,黄致阳,李华生,李津,吴少英,王冬龄,郑重宾

2016年12月16日 - 12月18日

展位:A6

2016年12月16日-18日

香港湾仔博览道1号(新翼)香港会议展览中心 展览厅3G

 

墨斋画廊是中国内地首家专门经营当代水墨艺术的画廊。墨斋定期参加高水准的艺术博览会,如香港巴塞尔艺术博览会、纽约军械库艺术博览会等。墨斋的作品也经常在世界重要美术馆亮相,如纽约大都会博物馆、洛杉矶郡艺术博物馆、香港M+美术馆。今年,墨斋首次参加香港INK Asia 2016,我们借黄致阳的装置作品“笔墨之后”为主题,精选了七位艺术家参展,他们分别是冰逸、黄致阳、李华生、李津、 吴少英、王冬龄和郑重宾。

 

 

笔墨之后

从汉代开始,笔墨就是中国美学中的重要概念,它最终甚至成了评判一件艺术品优劣的首要标准。近几十年来,对笔墨看法却发生了巨大的变化,有时它甚至面目全非,如吴冠中的著名论断“笔墨等于零”。但这让艺术家有了重新诠释笔墨的可能,包括从材料、物质、审美观、世界观、文化符号、道德标准以及批评对象等多种层面审视笔墨。墨斋选择的七位艺术家各自以当代的切入点重新思考笔墨,角度从变相的接纳到批判性的排斥各有不同。

 

 

王冬龄 (b. 1945)

王冬龄是中国非常著名的书法家,而“乱书”则是他晚年最富有创新性的作品。在“乱书”中,王冬龄打破了传统书法中“行气”,他将字与字乃至行与行穿插在一起,组成无法辨识的图象。王冬龄以行动书写的方式体现出书法綫条的力量,正所谓“书为心画”。

 

 

李津  (b. 1958)

在李津最近的黑白水墨系列作品中,他以类似唐代禅宗绘画以及性格怪诞的徐渭、八大那种打破固有笔墨程式的方式作画。这种粗放、大胆的笔墨和李津所选择的对象也十分契合。那睨视的自画像让人想起超凡脱俗的六朝人物以及佛教中的罗汉,而静物则让人想到以平常之物为象征的禅宗。

 

 

李华生 (b. 1944)

在老一辈画家中,李华生原来是一位非常优秀的传统山水画家。不过,在上世纪80年代访问美国之后,李华生便停止了传统画法,而在隐居于藏区。在之后数十年中,李华生创造了一种前所未有的、以冥想的状态画巨幅綫格的绘画方式,身心的细微变化全都记录在綫条之中。在创作格子作品的同时,李华生也画山水画,不过此时的山水画,呈现的是一种或抽象或极少主义的面貌。綫格画中的克制和后期山水画中的自由相互交织在一起。

 

 

黄致阳 (b. 1965)

黄致阳的《密视》系列作品将笔墨语言的纬度拓展到运用颜色的势的抽象。黄致阳浓郁的用色让人想到禅宗或者其它神秘主义的传统,他的作品能唤起人精神领域的感觉、知觉、受觉、情绪、记忆和意识。
 
2014年,《北京生物之春1号》曾在墨斋画廊和中国国家博物馆联合的黄致阳个展“工课”中首次展出。此次INK Asia的展览,是该作品第一次离开北京亮相香港。更多作品信息

 

 

郑重宾 (b. 1961)

郑重宾和李华生类似,他也舍弃了具象主义以及有描摹功能的传统笔法。不过,郑重宾不展现艺术家的身心活动。通过对自然届中“熵”的变化的认知,以及对水、墨、丙烯、纸、光相互作用下的分形结构的了解,郑重宾著意表现的是物质材料本身那可被觉察到的活力。

 

 

冰逸 (b. 1975)

在冰逸的扇形作品《发光体》系列中,她表现的是微观的自然和生物的各种形态。通过每天的书法训练,冰逸的笔墨极具表现力,她还将自然中爱的力量融入自己创造的生命体中。

 

 

吴少英 (b. 1966)

吴少英在她极具实验性的摄影、录像以及表演中,不再使用毛笔作为表达的工具。墨自身成了主题、主体、合作者、表演者。墨的流动、溶解、及其和其它物质的相互作用,很容易引发人们对于禅宗中“无常”、“空性”、“缘起”等观念的思考。

Ink Asia Hong Kong 2016: Bingyi, Huang Zhiyang, Li Huasheng, Li Jin, Cindy Ng, Wang Dongling, Zheng Chongbin

16 - 18 December 2016

Booth: A6

December 16-18, 2016
Hall 3G, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, 1 Expo Drive, Hong Kong

 

As the premier Mainland Chinese art gallery specializing in experimental contemporary ink art, INK studio has regularly appeared in top-tier art fairs, including Art Basel Hong Kong and the Armory Show, and placed artworks with major museums such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, and M+. INK Asia 2016 is INK studio’s first opportunity to engage the public in Hong Kong with its gallery program. We are excited to present a careful selection of works by seven leading artists— Bingyi, Huang Zhiyang, Li Huasheng, Li Jin, Cindy Ng, Wang Dongling, and Zheng Chongbin—organized around the theme of Brushwork After Brushwork, complemented by a public installation by Huang Zhiyang.

 

 

Brushwork After Brushwork

The notion of bimo (literally “brush and ink” but conventionally translated as “brushwork”) has been essential to Chinese aesthetics since its earliest articulations in the Han Dynasty, ultimately becoming the primary criterion for evaluating a work of art. In recent decades, however, brushwork has come under radical reevaluation and even rejection, most famously in Wu Guanzhong’s declaration that “brushwork is equal to zero.” This has created an opening for artists to approach brushwork anew—as materials, physical properties, aesthetic language, worldview, cultural symbol, moral value, or object of critique. INK studio has selected seven artists whose distinctive works reveal the range of contemporary approaches to the question of brushwork, from transformative embrace to critical rejection.

 

Wang Dongling (b. 1945)
In Chaos Script, his latest and most radical invention, renowned calligrapher Wang Dongling breaks away completely from the implied grid of traditional calligraphy and interweaves characters and entire columns into an virtually illegible field. Wang locates the expressive power of calligraphic brushwork in an embodied performance that directly reflects the xin or “heart-mind.”

 

Li Jin  (b. 1958)
In his latest monochrome series, Li Jin embraces the anti-brushwork manners of the “splashed ink” painters of the Tang Dynasty, Chan (Zen) Buddhist painting, and self-consciously eccentric painters like Xu Wei and Bada Shanren. This iconoclasm in “brushwork” achieves a synergy with Li Jin’s choice of subjects: his oblique self-portraits evoke the extraordinary persona of the Six Dynasties and otherworldly arhats, and his still-life subjects are symbols of Chan Buddhism.

 

Li Huasheng (b. 1944)
Li Huasheng, one of the pre-eminent traditional landscape artists of his generation, stopped painting and became a recluse in the Himamalays after a visit to the United States in the 1980’s. Over the next decade, he developed the unprecedented practice of drawing vast grids in a state of meditative concentration, registering in virtuosic brushed lines every fluctuation in his body and mind. Li has since returned to traditional landscapes, but in abstract and minimalist manner. The disciplined brushwork of his grids and the freedom of his post-grid landscapes are mutually enabling.

 

Huang Zhiyang (b. 1965)
Huang Zhiyang’s Zoon-Dreamscape series expands his language of brush and ink to include pure gestural abstraction in the application of color. Drawing from the profound color symbolisms of Buddhism and other spiritual and mystical traditions, Huang’s work evokes a mental realm of sense, perception, feeling, emotion, memory, and consciousness.

 

Zoon-Beijing Bio: Spring No. 1 was first exhibited in Beijing during Huang Zhiyang’s 2014 joint solo exhibition at INK studio and the National Museum of China entitled The Phenomenology of Life.  INK Asia will be the Hong Kong premier of Zoon-Beijing Bio: Spring No. 1 and the first time this seminal, monumental work will be seen outside of Beijing. More about this work

 

Zheng Chongbin (b. 1961)
Like Li Huasheng, Zheng Chongbin rejects both the representational and expressive functions of classical brushwork. But Zheng also removes the artist’s embodied presence and makes the vitality of matter itself directly perceptible, realizing nature’s entropic processes and fractal structures in the interactions of ink, acrylic, water, paper, and light.

 

Bingyi (b. 1975)
In her serial fan paintings Luminaries, Bingyi studies natural processes in microscopic scale and catalogues the multifold forms assumed by organismic life. Honed by a daily discipline in calligraphy, her brushwork embodies a generative expressionism and channels the loving power of nature in its crafting animate life from inanimate matter.

 

Cindy Ng (b. 1966)
In her highly experimental photographs, videos, and performances, Cindy Ng Sio Leng does not use a brush and removes her agency. Ink itself becomes the subject, agent, collaborator, and performer, even as its flow, dissolution, and liquid interactions with other materials evoke the Buddhist concepts of impermanence, emptiness, and conditioned arising.