第十一届上海双年展“何不再问?”: 郑重宾

2016年11月11日 - 2017年03月12日

请点击以下链接下载高清空间图:https://pan.baidu.com/s/1c1LQk7I

 

2016年11月11日-2017年03月12日

上海市黄浦区花园港路200号上海当代艺术博物馆3层

 

墨斋独家代理艺术家郑重宾将在2016年上海双年展“何不再问?”(2016.11.11-2017.3.12,上海市黄浦区花园港路200号上海当代艺术博物馆)中,展出他广受赞誉的光与空间装置作品《层层天墙》最新版。郑重宾已被双年展策展方Raqs媒体小组确定为十一位重点推荐艺术家之一。

 

郑重宾(1961年生于上海)毕业于杭州浙江美术学院国画系(现为中国美术学院),1989年移居旧金山。在过去几十年中,他发展了一种独特的绘画模式,展现墨、丙烯、宣纸与光在自然中的相互作用,使观者感受物质本身的生命力。他近年来艺术影响力迅速提升,作品被德国戴姆勒艺术收藏、美国洛杉矶郡立艺术博物馆、香港M+博物馆、纽约大都会艺术博物馆以及橙县美术馆等收藏。他在墨斋(2015年5月-9月)、香港苏富比S|2画廊(2016年4月-5月)、美国加州橙县美术馆(2016年8月6日-12月4日)等地举办个展,并在2015年威尼斯双年展平行展中展出其环境影像装置作品。

 

《层层天墙》在2015年5月墨斋的郑重宾同名个展中首次亮相。这幅巨大的水墨作品以多重折叠方式装裱,并嵌于倾斜的天花板、反光地板与倾斜的墙面之间,由一组特别设计的LED灯光照射,在非平行的线与面之间,在巨大的凝固体以及光线的反射与被吸收之间产生微妙的张力。《层层天墙》既不是绘画或雕塑,也不是纯粹的光线与空间,作品与环境化为一个有机整体的同时,又坚持着自身的物质存在。当直线透视与建筑结构都被消解,惯常的视觉参照体系不复存在,观众须遵循装置各个面的轨迹不断地重构空间,使人联想到中国传统山水画中的“三远”法透视。

 

上海版《层层天墙》专为双年展和上海当代艺术博物馆场地设计,这里可以瞭望黄浦江和浦东天际线。这件装置通过一个纱幕结合场地外的风景与自然光,并突出了墨与纸的渗透性。鉴于郑重宾将西方后现代与中国传统的世界观矛盾而有机的通融,评论家Mark van Proyen将他的绘画描述为“前建构”,以区别于“解构”。切合双年展的主题,《层层天墙》介乎人工与自然、沉浸与循环、客观物质与主观感知,启发观者反思此等二元对立,并在国际艺术博览会的语境中试图引发不同观众与文化传统之间的对话。

 

与上海双年展同期,墨斋将在上海西岸艺术与设计博览会(2016.11.9-11.13,上海徐汇区龙腾大道2555号,西岸艺术中心,C3展位)呈现郑重宾的最新作品。

11th Shanghai Biennale, Why Not Ask Again?: Zheng Chongbin

11 November 2016 - 12 March 2017

High-resolution installation images are available at this address: https://pan.baidu.com/s/1c1LQk7I

 

November 11, 2016 - March 12, 2017

3F, Power Station of Art, 200 Huayuangang Rd, Huangpu, Shanghai

 

Zheng Chongbin, exclusively represented by INK studio, will present a new version of his acclaimed light-and-space installation Wall of Skies at the 2016 Shanghai Biennale, Why Not Ask Again? (Power Station of Art, 200 Huayuangang Rd, Huangpu, Shanghai), November 11, 2016 – March 12, 2017. Zheng has been selected as one of 11 Highlighted Artists by Biennale curators Raqs Media Collective.

 

A native of Shanghai, Zheng Chongbin (b. 1961) trained in traditional figurative ink painting at the Hangzhou Academy of Art (now China Academy of Art) and moved to the San Francisco Bay Area in 1989. Over the past decades, he has developed a distinctive body of paintings that make the vitality of matter perceptible, realizing nature’s processes in the interactions of ink, acrylic, paper, and light. His profile has risen dramatically in recent years, with solo shows at INK studio (May-September 2015), Sotheby’s S|2 Hong Kong (April-May, 2016), and the Orange County Museum of Art (OCMA) (August 6-December 4, 2016), and major acquisitions by the Daimler Art Collection, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, M+, Metropolitan Museum of Art, and OCMA. He showed an environmental video installation in a Collateral Event of the 2015 Venice Biennale.

 

Wall of Skies debuted in Zheng’s eponymous solo exhibition at INK studio in May 2015. It consists of a monumental work of ink on paper mounted on a complex folded structure. The installation is illuminated with a specially designed array of LED lights and enclosed by a tilted ceiling, reflective floor, and slanted walls. It creates a delicate interplay between nonparallel lines and planes, and between monumental solidity, ethereal reflections, and absorbing textures. Freed from linear perspective and architectural framing, the viewer continually recreates the space by navigating the installation’s surfaces, recalling the sanyuan or “three distances” in traditional Chinese landscape paintings. Identifying Zheng’s ambivalent affinities with both postmodern Western and premodern Chinese worldviews, critic Mark van Proyen has described his painting as “preconstruction” in distinction to “deconstruction.”

 

The Shanghai version of Wall of Skies has been conceived specifically for the Biennale and the venue of the Power Station of Art, which overlooks the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. The installation incorporates the view and natural light with a scrim and accentuates the porousness of ink and paper. Resolving neither into painting, nor sculpture, nor pure light and space, Wall of Skies insists on its material presence even as it is dissolved in spatial experience. Appropriate to the Biennale’s theme of “Why Not Ask Again?” Wall of Skies occupies the interstices between conceptual categories—artifice and nature, objecthood and perception, immersion and circulation—and compels us to rethink them. In the context of an international contemporary art fair, Wall of Skies also seeks to generate conversations between audiences and cultural traditions.

 

Concurrently with the Shanghai Biennale, INK studio will present Zheng Chongbin’s latest paintings at the West Bund Art & Design (Booth C3, West Bund Art Center, 2555 Longteng Avenue, Shanghai), November 9-13, 2016.