2016年上海廿一当代艺术博览会: 马文

2016年11月11日 - 11月13日

展位:APPROACH单元P-07

2016年11月11日-13日

中国 上海市 延安中路1000号 上海展览中心

 

在于11月11日至13日举行的上海Art021艺博会上,墨斋画廊将呈现旅美著名跨媒介艺术家、2008北京奥运会创意团队成员之一马文的装置和限量版摄影作品,位于上海展览中心——上海市延安中路1000号APPROACH单元P-07展位。

 

马文于1973年生于北京,后于1986年移居美国并在1999年毕业于普拉特学院,取得艺术硕士学位。她的艺术实践以敏锐和出人意料的方式聚集多样的文化元素,涉及媒介包括装置、绘画、视频、公共艺术、设计、表演和戏剧等。马文是北京奥运会创意团队的七位核心成员之一,并因此获得艾美奖。此后她便越来越多的在作品中挖掘水墨的材料质感和哲学属性。

 

马文创作和导演了灵感来源于明代昆曲《牡丹亭》的装置歌剧《惊园》,《华尔街时报》评价此作品为“动态艺术装置和歌剧令人着迷的结合”。《惊园》片段预演于大都会博物馆,并先后在斯波雷多艺术节、新加坡国际艺术节、亚洲协会和林肯中心艺术节上演。根据《惊园》舞台布景改编的多媒体装置于2016年参加了卡塔尔博物馆举行的“艺术怎么样”群展,该展览由著名艺术家蔡国强策展,是反映中国当代艺术现状的重要展览。另一最新装置作品《蕴》在英国西萨赛克斯的卡斯雕塑基金会展出。

 

墨和植物在马文的许多作品中重复出现,并逐渐发展成其独特和丰富的艺术语言。她的墨植物装置和公共参与项目令人联想起中国水墨传统中的花卉、植物主题。墨作为一种本身源自植物的有机材料,覆盖在植物表面后,阻碍植物的光合作用却不致其死亡,反而激发了植物绿色部分的快速生长。这系列作品曾先后在澳大利亚、巴西、中国和日本等地参与展览,却极少被记录和出版。墨斋在Art021带来的限量版墨植物摄影谱写了无常与永恒、生命的顽强与脆弱之间感人的交响乐。

 

墨斋在Art021同时呈现马文特别为现场环境制作的装置作品《穷》,其中绿草和黑土在时刻演绎着微妙的变化。水分、气味、颜色等感官元素与静态单色的摄影作品相互映衬,形成一种浸入式体验,并带来有关自然、时间和古典文化在当代全球化经济背景下的地位的反思。

 

销售相关问题请联系墨斋销售经理徐徐(xu.xu@inkstudio.com.cn)。

 

媒体相关问题请联系墨斋研究员和媒体公关杨帆(yang.fan@inkstudio.com.cn)。

 

更多消息,请留意墨斋网页:

inkstudio.com.cn/zh

artsy.net/INK-studio

gallery.artron.net/2952

 

墨斋社交媒体:

facebook.com/INKstudioBeijing

@INKstudioBeijing
微信公众号: inkstudio2013

Art021 Shanghai Contemporary Art Fair 2016: Jennifer Wen Ma

11 - 13 November 2016

Booth: P-07, APPROACH section

November 11 - 13, 2016

Shanghai Exhibition Center, 1000 Yan'an Middle Road

 

At this year’s Art021 Shanghai Contemporary Art Fair, INK studio is excited to present an installation and limited-edition photographs by Jennifer Wen Ma, the internationally acclaimed interdisciplinary artist and one of the chief creators of the 2008 Beijing Olympics opening and closing ceremonies. On view from November 11 to 13, INK studio’s presentation is part of the APPROACH section and located at Booth P-07, Shanghai Exhibition Center No. 1000, Yan’an Middle Road, Shanghai, China.

 

Born in Beijing in 1973, Jennifer Wen Ma moved to the United States in 1986 and graduated with an MFA in 1999 from the Pratt Institute. Her practice draws together elements and cultural references in sensitive and unexpected ways, bridging such diverse media as installation, drawing, video, public art, design, performance, and theater. Ma was one of seven members of the core creative team for the Beijing Olympics and received an Emmy Award for their work. Since then, she has increasingly delved into the material and philosophical qualities of the Chinese ink tradition.

 

Jennifer Wen Ma created and directs Paradise Interrupted, which the Wall Street Journal has described in a review as “a mesmerizing new work that is part opera, part dynamic art installation.” Inspired by the Ming-dynasty kunqu opera Peony Pavilion, Paradise Interrupted was previewed at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in 2015 and has since been performed at the Spoleto USA Festival, Singapore International Festival of Arts, Asia Society, and Lincoln Center Festival. Ma reconfigured her production design for Paradise Interrupted into a multimedia installation in the landmark 2016 exhibition “What About the Art?” curated by Cao Guo-qiang at the Qatar Museums Gallery Al Riwaq in Doha, Qatar. Another notable recent work is the installation Molar (2016), commissioned by Cass Sculpture Foundation, Chichester, United Kingdom.

 

A significant part of Jennifer Wen Ma’s practice involves the application of ink on live plants. An organic material itself derived from plants, ink stunts photosynthesis without killing them, and in fact encourages spurts of growth that are made visible by the contrast between the inked and green new portions of the leaves and stems. Evoking traditional Chinese ink paintings of floral and vegetal subjects, Ma’s inked plants have developed into a distinctive and increasingly rich artistic language in a series of installations and participatory public projects in Australia, Brazil, China, Hong Kong, Japan, and Taiwan. These acclaimed works have rarely been documented and published. At Art 021, INK studio will debut a series limited-edition photographs of the inked plants that capture their poignant interplay between ephemerality and timelessness, fragility and vitality.

 

Also part of INK studio’s presentation at Art021 is Exhaustive, a 3-by-2 meter living installation of grass and black soil conceived specifically for the occasion. Changing subtly over the duration of the fair, the installation will introduce moisture, smell, color, and other sensorial elements that complement the static and near-monochromatic photographs. Together they will create an immersive experience and reflect on nature, time, and the place of classical culture in the contemporary globalized economy.

 

For sales-related inquiries, please contact Rachel Xu, Sales Manager, at xu.xu@inkstudio.com.cn.

 

For media-related inquiries, please contact Yang Fan, Researcher and Media Coordinator, at yang.fan@inkstudio.com.cn


Follow INK studio on the internet:

inkstudio.com.cn

artsy.net/INK-studio

gallery.artron.net/2952

 

… and on social media:

facebook.com/INKstudioBeijing

@INKstudioBeijing
 Wechat ID: inkstudio2013